Skip to content

Ready or not, Texas, here we are!

May 16, 2010

It’s been six weeks since we pulled up in the driveway, and even the driveway has changed. We’ve learned the ins and outs of septic systems, watched bluebirds build nests in the box on the abandoned volleyball pole, and taken more motrin than a body should. We’ve stood and listened, as neighbors stopped by on their four wheelers or golf carts (nobody walks here), with a polite look on our faces as they threw out enough racist comments in the first five minutes that I wasn’t sure if my momma would have been proud of me for being polite or cheered me on if I’d smacked them.

We’re still learning to be together almost all the time. It’s a big house with lots of nooks and crannies for a body to get away, so we’re doing okay but it’s different. Actually almost every single thing about our life is different now. We get dirty, really dirty almost every single day. We rarely set an alarm clock, but wake up when bodies are rested and / or the sun throws enough morning light into the bedroom that everything is screaming “get up, grab coffee and go sit on that sunporch and check out the nature I created just for you.”

The house is so much better and a mess. What’s fixed is really fixed. But there are piles all over the place as we try to figure out how to live here. Some parts look marvelously better, and some are pretty awful but we’re just squinting as we walk by them, for now. Budgets and backs only allow so much remodeling and renovation at a time.

We don’t have any friends here yet, but some aquaintances and some hopes of friendships that might grow. There’s a freedom in that. Not only can you walk around your house well into mid-morning in pjs sans underwear, you have no obligations, no forced niceness and obligatory saying yes and going when you’d really rather just stay home and take a hot bath or curl up with knitting and a book. Everybody should move now and then just for that bonus.

We are loving being with our kids who live here, and the kids they produced just so we’d have beautiful grandbabies to play with. We’re sorely missing the kids and their kids left behind.

We’re hot, already. We sweat buckets and it’s not even hot here yet.But we keep telling ourselves come January or February we’ll remember all that ice and snow and grey sky and thank the good Lord above that we’re in Texas.

So that’s where we are right now – thankful to be in central Texas, together, and figuring it out one day at a time.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 2:12 pm

    I came!!

  2. May 16, 2010 5:22 pm

    I followed!!

  3. May 16, 2010 5:45 pm

    I found you- yay! Love your new name, since sweet tea and sass are two of my favorite things , or at least two very critical aspects of my daily life
    🙂
    Looking forward to hearing more from your new home.

  4. May 16, 2010 7:45 pm

    Woo Hoo! You are gorgeous in Texas my friend. This is great! I am moving to WordPress this week too. Must be something in the air … or the age 🙂

    Love it! And love your post as usual. You write the way I think. I just wish you would have moved in next door to me. No racism but lots of that sweet tea and sass (love the name).

  5. May 17, 2010 12:37 am

    I was surprised to read your comment about the rascist neighbors. I’m so used to that, that I don’t think about it seeming abnormal to anyone. I don’t mean I accept or like it, but rather that I’ve lived with it my entire life, and am not surprised by it. When it’s really hard to take (and understand) is when it comes from the mouths of ‘believers’, those who claim to be God’s kids. Do they not know it hurts Him when we put down His kids…our offspring in the family of God? Sheesh, I guess you can see you struck a chord with me there!

    Today was our first day to be really H.O.T. I burned my hand when I grabbed hold of the top of the van when getting in it after church. I am so not looking forward to summer. I do think it would be more bearable if I had a lake out my backdoor, though, so make good use of that lovely body of body-cooling water. 🙂

    PS-I’ve noticed lately that many bloggers are switching from blogspot to WordPress. I’m sort of out of the blogging loop, but am curious as to why.

    • May 17, 2010 4:26 am

      Miss Renna, you are absolutely welcome to come have some sweet tea with me on the deck. Anytime. Email me, seriously and we’ll see if we can work it out!

  6. May 17, 2010 12:38 am

    PS-I LOVE your new blog name! 🙂

  7. Susan D. permalink
    May 17, 2010 7:00 am

    Love your blog Bev! You & Don have 2 things to get used to at once, where most people probably have one or the other. Retirement & moving. I think moving & retiring are good things to do at the same time as you both work together while getting adjusted to being together so much of the time! While it is so wonderful to be together finally after all those years working, you both are also establishing your own space. And isn’t it wonderful to wake up next to each other & lay there talking about what is on the agenda for the day?
    I guess I have been very sheltered living in Colorado all my life as I have not seen much rascism – thank goodness! It is so hard to imagine it still occurring in these times! Maybe God has put you there in that neighborhood for a reason – & hopefully, with His help, you & Don can rid that ugly word from the neighborhood!
    Enjoy that sun porch & I hope to see you soon – after all, you will need a break from that heat in the coming months!

  8. May 17, 2010 10:52 am

    I found you! I like the set up on your new blog!

  9. May 17, 2010 2:22 pm

    Bev, I just love the whole new site — so clean and crisp and up-to-date. Easy on the eyes. Minus the too-large graphic up on top that most blogs have and all the stuff on two side columns. Love your new name, too, even if I’m a yankee who doesn’t like my tea with any sweetness. 🙂

    It’s been much fun following your move and brand new retirement. What a change retirement is, right?

  10. May 17, 2010 3:52 pm

    I love your new place!! It’s clean and crisp and new–I’ve decided simple is often better. In LOTS of things!! Love and blessings, Karen

  11. May 18, 2010 3:02 am

    Welcome to your new, new home! Sorry to hear about lovely neighbors, but I am sure more will come along that are abit more tolerant.

    ( Did I miss something, though? I didn’t see what Renna was mentioning about them being racist in God’s viewpoint. Hopefully, that is not the case cause that is jut really wrong in so many ways).

    I just know you two will get the whole hanging together thing down. John and I have done it for a few years now, and we absolutely love it! Take heart 🙂

    Cannot wait to see how things continue to bloom and grow in Texas. Even if it is short and sweet.

Leave a Reply

