Skip to content

Dear Mr. Bug Man,

May 18, 2010

When we first started this relationship I wasn’t sure how long we’d make it. Being honest, you’re a little rich for my blood. For what it costs us to have you come calling every other month I could get a cut, color, and likely a manicure too. So I’d been thinking you might not be around long. A bit like my jr. high crushes.

Then I found this. In the kitchen. Behind the fridge.

Feel free to tattoo my name on either bicep. Hubby is giving our relationship a thumbs up.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 7:35 pm

    Oh my gosh. The bug man would be my new best friend! That is a scary looking bug, Bev. Wear shoes. Do NOT go barefoot in your kitchen!

  2. May 18, 2010 8:29 pm

    Totally creeped out here! I’d be doing my own hair and nails if it meant the bug man would grace me with his presence on a very, very regular basis. LOL.

  3. May 18, 2010 10:05 pm

    I’ve never been a bug fan, but now those were some nasty looking bugs, plus a scorpion?? ewwww! My grandson would have been happy to have been there, but then he would have wanted to give them all homes.

  4. May 18, 2010 10:51 pm

    Welcome to the south. Bugs are part of the deal. As I am sure you knew, but likely forgot. I remember the first week we moved to FL from IL, I called the pest guy 3 times and he finally said to me, “You aren’t from here are you?”

  5. May 18, 2010 11:28 pm

    I’m sure there are scorpions in Arkansas but I’ve never seen one. I’m perfectly fine with that. Ugh!

  6. May 19, 2010 1:02 am

    I’m liking Idaho more and more and more! While Texas sounds romantic – the snakes, the bugs, the snakes! Ah – I just don’t think I could do it!

  7. May 19, 2010 2:03 am

    Oh, ugh. We figured my folks home must’ve been built on a huge mound of them or something. They lived there 5 years (until their house burned), and the scorpions were regular visitors all that time; and yes, there were stingings. For your peace of mind, know that you will survive a sting if it occurs, though you might wish you could just go ahead and die for the first few minutes. Ouch!

    I’ve often been curious if their house burning destroyed the scorpions or not. They sold the land, and the new owners rebuilt on the same foundation. Hopefully, they don’t have to share the house with those pesky critters.

    They lived there for 5 years (until the house burned), and regularly saw scorpions despite my dad’s repeated spraying. We determined their house must’ve been built on a gigantic mound of them.

  8. Nancy permalink
    May 19, 2010 2:20 am

    And I thought our flying ants were bad!!! EWWW!

  9. May 19, 2010 2:39 am

    Hmmm… makes the 2 tiny spiders I freaked out about last week seem pretty tame by comparison.
    (And your statement about your husband approving of your relationship was hilarious. I called my bug man so often the first few months we lived here that I really do think he believed I had a crush on him… it was almost comical!)

  10. Terri permalink
    May 19, 2010 2:38 pm

    We live in AZ and this is a very familiar sight. Buy one of those LED blacklights and keep it handy at night. Oh and wear shoes if you can’t see the floor. 🙂
    The shock factor of seeing them will wear off in a year or so.

  11. May 19, 2010 8:52 pm

    EWWWWWW!!!!!!! Yet another reason that I am a Northern girl. Yuck!

  12. May 20, 2010 3:46 am

    Ekkk! Alligators outside. Scorpions inside. Hmmm…Wow. You’re going to be tough enough to get your own bicep tattooed here pretty soon!

  13. May 20, 2010 5:39 pm

    Oh. my. goodness. I guess this means I will not be moving south anytime soon. A sight like that would cause me to immediately put my house up for sale and skedaddle on out of there. 🙂

  14. May 20, 2010 8:07 pm

    Some people have Welcome Wagon ladies. I guess TX does things differently. 😉

    Glad to see you again. I’ve been following you since before Scratchin’ the Surface, so I expect I’ll stalk you anywhere. xxxooo

  15. Kathleen permalink
    May 21, 2010 1:42 am

    Welcome to the southwest. Also, be aware that scorpions are notorious for hanging out in shoes that are not worn often. I left Phoenix 4 years ago after living there for 20 years and I STILL bang out my shoes before putting them on if they have sat for any period of time.

Leave a Reply

