Skip to content

This week I…

May 21, 2010

(a special blessing…having all five of our grandchildren together in one place, taken the day after Easter.) Starting at the top and going clockwise, me, Grayson, Addie, Jae, Landon and Caiden)

passed a dead feral pig on the road near our house. Too near our house.

filled the hummingbird feeder, again. We have a few regular customers!

Watched the sky, in my rear view mirror, for any funnel clouds!

Ate breakfast on the deck with hubby. Because the table was covered with paint cans.

Had neighbors over for an impromptu lunch while we all worked in our yards.

Watched a crane, in the moonlight, fishing from our boat dock.

Started re-knitting my first sweater.

Wrapped packages to send to daughter, Leslie, for her birthday.

Talked to my 3 year old grandson, Landon, on the phone. About potatoes.

Went to the animal shelter and felt sad for every single animal there.

Ate watermelon.

Bought two sets of rusty branding irons from the antique store in town.

Not bad for week six in Texas – finding our way a bit more every day. And week.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Tris permalink
    May 21, 2010 4:08 pm

    Sounds to me like life is just one big surprise after another down there in Texas!! You can go hunting and never leave the farm!!
    It is fun though, you’ll have to admit. Like I told you, retirement is a whole new way of life for both of you.
    And isn’t it great to do things when you want too, not when you have too?
    Get all of your work done, cause we just might come to see ya one day.
    Take care of each other til then.
    Tris

    • May 21, 2010 4:15 pm

      Oh do please come! I told Don we have to get the place cleaned up a bit because Hubert and Tris might phone and tell us they’re two hours away! Would LOVE that!

      • Tris permalink
        May 21, 2010 5:09 pm

        Believe me, we would never call and surprise you!! A trip to Texas would be planned well in advance!!!! That’s too far to drive and not find you home.
        So far, this month we have been home very little. Going to Fl. next week to cruise, then when we get back, am gonna stay here for awhile….I hope.

  2. May 21, 2010 4:49 pm

    A dead pig, huh? Well, at least country life is not dull. πŸ˜‰ I think it’s so neat that you invited neighbors over for lunch, impromptu, no less. I wish I were able to do that. My house is never clean enough (seriously, it’s not), and I’m far too introverted for that. I do have friendly relations with my neighbors, but it’s likely more because they’ve made the first moves. It’s no wonder you and Don left behind so many friends in PA., you’re friendly people! πŸ™‚

  3. May 21, 2010 4:50 pm

    PS-That is one great looking group of kids. You are mightily blessed; but then, you know that! πŸ™‚

  4. May 21, 2010 5:35 pm

    Ooooh I hope we will see those branding irons at some point. I love that. And the grands together and a crane fishing from the dock. Not so much the feral pig … I’m guessing you were as thrilled as I’d be.

    I love these quick and easy posts, don’t you??

  5. May 21, 2010 5:59 pm

    Wonderful picture! Sounds like you’re doing just exactly the moment-by-moment life just the way you should. Love watching you embrace this new season.

  6. May 21, 2010 7:55 pm

    All sounds interesting and fun.

  7. May 22, 2010 3:51 am

    Wow! 6 weeks already? That is so hard to believe… time is sure flying by:-)

    Sounds like you are both adjusting well to your new life in TX… despite the various critters that seem to keep popping up! (A feral pig, seriously? Ugh!!)

    Hope you have a happy weekend full of sunshine!

  8. May 22, 2010 11:02 am

    You sure know how to pack a lot into one week! I’m sure you could have done without the dead feral pig, but, hey, what’s one more piece of roadkill???

  9. Judy permalink
    May 24, 2010 7:40 pm

    Hey Barb, glad you guys are enjoying living in Texas. You wouldn’t happen to know the name and adress of your daughter Sarah’s new blog would you, I know she has a new blog to celebrate her daughter’s fourth birthday but don’t know where it is. Her post that had the link is gone now and i don’t know what the new address is. Think you could help me out?

    • May 25, 2010 2:29 am

      Hello Judy,

      Sarah’s new blog address is: owlcreekcottage.typepad.com thanks for stopping by!

  10. Judy permalink
    May 26, 2010 2:30 am

    Thanks Bev. I really appreciate it. That little Addison sure is adorable. I can’t get over that hair of hers!

Leave a Reply

