Skip to content

Being a Fun Mom

May 28, 2010

On my good days, for the twenty plus years I had kids at home, I think I was a fun mom. Hopefully fun enough to make up for those days when all my kids saw was ‘The Hairy Eyeball’, crazed woman who happened to live with them.

We had ‘kid day’, we did paper machie and crafts and picked berries and took cab rides and made tents in the dining room and invited their grubby friends over for dinner. We had birthday parties, put on plays in the backyard, sold koolaid from our curb. All those things that tend to thrill kids’ hearts.

Having finished the job of raising our children, I pray that the mistakes I made will roll off their backs and not be repeated with their own children; I also pray they will enjoy their own children even more than I did them.

My middle daughter, Leslie felt called to use her gift of encouragement along with her background in art and teaching to start a website devoted to encouraging and equipping moms to do just that. Appropriately titled ‘Fun Mom’, it’s full of great ideas for snacks, crafts, activities – all easy to pull off, pay for, and clean up after. The sidebar is chock full of all sorts of tools for moms to find out how their child learns, resources for teaching them and playing with them, and there’s even a place for moms to submit their own great ideas for what worked with their kids.

You can check it out here. She doesn’t take comments – it’s just there to be a blessing. My kids are grown but I’ve been blessed with five beautiful grandchildren, so far, and I want to be an even better Grammy than I was a Mom. I’m thinking God is pretty gracious to let me have ‘do-overs’ with this next precious generation he’s put in my path. The next time the grandkids come to the lake I plan to check out her website and see what we can do together. The coasters she just featured would make a great Father’s Day gift, and I’m pretty sure Pap needs a set for our lakehouse.

P.S. Happy Birthday, Leslie. You are one terrific mother.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2010 12:57 pm

    What an absolutely amazing and wonderful idea that Leslie had. I will go check it out, and point some of my old friends .. the MOPS mamas .. in her direction.

    Wonderful I tell ya. I should be proud of all your kids and grands, as I know you are. Family is so special. And to see your successes in the next generation is such a gift isn’t it?

    • May 28, 2010 1:52 pm

      Becky, Leslie is serving on the Steering Committee of our church’s MOPS group. She’s going to be their craft person and I know she’s super excited about it – the perfect place for her to serve. I know you miss that group of yours.

  2. May 29, 2010 4:03 am

    Thanks, Bev, for letting us know about Leslie’s site–it’s fabulous! I can’t wait to dig into it even more. I know you have to be very proud of her!

    Love and blessings,
    Karen

    • May 29, 2010 4:40 am

      Thanks Karen for checking her out – I’m sure I’m biased but I really am impressed with her website – wish I’d had something like that when I was her age.

Leave a Reply

