Skip to content

This past week I….

June 3, 2010

read Southern Living, immediately baked two cream pies and delivered slices to new neighbors.

spread mulch. In 100 degrees.

thought I saw a dead snake in the road, had hubby turn around, go back, to find it was a piece of rope.

watched this guy fish off our boathouse for a good ten minutes.

overheard at Dairy Queen that the worker’s husband was going to be late because he ‘had to skin a hog’.

listened while the Orkin man told me bugs are just ‘organisms’ but he didn’t say ‘organism’ and my face never changed a bit.

cooked this healthy breakfast for our grandkids who were visiting us. (They call me ‘Candy Grammy’ – wonder why?)

learned to drive a golf cart.

visited a church and was blessed by the sermon and the people. They came by for a visit and left us chips and salsa!

organized one of four bookcases. Loving having four bookcases for all our books.

picked out my birthday cat at the animal shelter and decided to name her Miss Kitty. They’re calling her Kitty Kitty now and I loved Marshall Dillon’s girlfriend (Miss Kitty). I was so in awe of all that eye makeup she wore!

overheard someone say it’s ‘hotter than fish frying oil’. They’re right.

had a date with Don here. Beans were complimentary while you waited for your burger to be done.

stopped what I was doing to watch this sink into the horizon.

It’s still quite the adventure here, every single day!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 8:34 am

    I love reading about your new life!

  2. Mary Huckaby permalink
    June 3, 2010 8:38 am

    Hi Bev! Those pies look absolutely delicious! What a ‘sweet’ gesture for your new neighbors!

    Did this church feel like ‘home?’ Sometimes it takes several visits before you can tell…don’t you agree?

    Sounds like there’s never a dull moment in your ‘neck-of-the-woods.” LOL. Our 3 granddaughters are now very busy teenagers…and we miss their childhood years so much!

  3. June 3, 2010 9:56 am

    I tell you, you are making me purely green with envy as I wait for our retirement days, which right now are 7 years, 11 months, and 3 days away.

  4. June 3, 2010 12:15 pm

    What a great life! Well except for maybe the snakes and “organisms”. LOL.

    Love that sunset!

  5. June 3, 2010 4:44 pm

    Mary, the church sermon was fantastic – just what I needed to hear. All about sowing and reaping and such. The music was ‘less than inspirational’ as Don put it, but it was Memorial Day with themed hymns and so we’re visiting another this weekend, then going back to the first one. It was good to be back in church after two months of hiatus.

  6. June 3, 2010 7:58 pm

    Well, Addie will be happy–she told me yesterday she’s calling your cat “Kitty,” but I already told the boys you’re naming her “Violet,” and they think it’s the most beautiful name in the world! Either way, I sure hope she gets along well with Slowly. 😉

  7. June 3, 2010 8:49 pm

    Wow! This is amazing. Cultural change is so fascinating to me.

    And you had me snorting through my nose on the “organism” comment … without flinching. No way could I have done that.

    I just love this list and all the great pictures to go with it. And a church that visits and leaves chips and salsa. I’d definitely go back!

  8. June 3, 2010 8:51 pm

    Officially leaving my “new” new link. Sorry.

  9. Nancy permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:57 pm

    Gorgeous sunset! My husband went to pick up a big rope in a warehouse where he was working a couple weeks ago and realized it was a snake! I’d rather have it the other way around!

  10. June 3, 2010 10:57 pm

    you had me at “organism”.

    my.my.my.

    that and complimentary beans whilst you wait on your burger.

    now I have to come. I was thinking about the quilting and the conversation and the great candy and pies, but truly…I need to eat at Burgers N Beans.

  11. June 4, 2010 5:56 pm

    Beautiful sunset . . . fun-to-read post! Sounds like you’ve experienced a bit of cultural shock!

  12. June 4, 2010 6:25 pm

    oooooo—I see those yummy plums Don and I got at the farmers market–those were SOOOOO good. I have been craving more and plan on stopping by with Dan after church!

  13. June 7, 2010 9:48 am

    my daughter has a blog “For Such A Time As This”, Raising Future Esthers. I have been following your blog for almost a year now, and enjoy reading all the things you do. I love your story about the “organisms” That was so hilarious. Thanks again for all of the good stories.

    Trish Good

    • June 7, 2010 2:03 pm

      And thank you, Trish, for taking time to let me know you’re out there. I believe I read your daughter’s blog – love the name of it!

  14. June 7, 2010 4:39 pm

    Cracking up here at the ‘organism’ mispronunciation comment! ;-Þ

Leave a Reply

