Skip to content

Happy Birthday to me

June 13, 2010

I had a birthday this past week. A bit of a monumental one, where both numbers are the same and it ended in a ‘5’. We count those and the ones that end in ‘0’ as a bigger deal. So I had a ‘big deal’ birthday.

I made myself a grand birthday dinner – chicken gumbo…. (not as good as my mom’s but not bad either)

and homemade strawberry ice cream. I’m of the camp that there’s no need to have any other flavour.

then I drove into DFW to celebrate with kids. Don stayed home with Miss Kitty and his John Deere.

We seem to have a ‘Baby Whisperer’ in our family.

Soon as a little one gets fussy, hand ’em over to Chris and he’ll have them cooing within minutes.

Two pretty girls – Aunt Janae and Miss Addie

Is this not the stinkin’ cutest photo ever? Mr. Caiden is losing teeth left and right, literally.

Grayson with Sarah and Chris – ask him to smile and you get this crazy look E.V.E.R.Y. S.I.N.G.L.E. T.I.M.E.

Everybody says Baby Jae looks just like her Daddy. Dan as a girl. What do you think?

And Miss Kitty, after one week, pretty much has the run of the place. What a great addition to our family!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan D permalink
    June 13, 2010 1:17 pm

    Looks like you had a WONDERFUL birthday dear friend! I can’t think of a better way to celebrate than with family! Jae is sure growing – I love her hair! All your grandchildren are adorable, as are your grown children too! I still have almost 2 months before I hit that same BD but I can remember giving older friends a hard time about their age being on a lot of speed signs around here. And now we are that age – funny I don’t think of us as that age!

  2. June 13, 2010 1:25 pm

    I owe you a big email this week … it’s a’commin’

    And Dan as a girl. Well, he looks all guy but I tell ya that little one is the prettiest version of him I could ever imagine. She is adorable. And growing like a kudzo too.

    Your kitty looks happy. She looks healthier too, than her previous picture. She really needed someone to love didn’t she?

    I am so glad you had a great birthday. I love that you made your own birthday dinner and dessert. I would have done the same if I had loved ones to celebrate with. As it is, my birthday is coming this week and we celebrated today, just the two of us, with Panera.

    I hope you have another great week ahead. I just love how you are so enjoying life at its fullest.

  3. June 13, 2010 1:27 pm

    Realized that I am still doing comments on the abandoned WordPress blog. So here is the right like, for you, and also so that I will be already logged in next time. Okay, I’m done now …

  4. June 13, 2010 10:05 pm

    Happy Birthday! Looks like it was a great one all around!

  5. June 13, 2010 11:14 pm

    Happy Birthday! Looks like it was a wonderful day. You will share the chicken gumbo recipe one day, won`t you

    • June 13, 2010 11:17 pm

      Susanne, I’m thinking I’m going to adjust it a bit – use some different ingredients and some different seasonings. I’ll post my updated version soon, promise!

  6. June 14, 2010 12:48 pm

    Happy Birthday to you! Looks like you had a great one! (Mine was last week as well and also ended in a “5”!! :o)

    Your family is just precious!
    Love and blessings,
    Karen

  7. June 14, 2010 1:34 pm

    Happy Birthday! I had that same one last fall, I think. I called it my speed limit birthday. Not the interstate speed limit, but the local highway speed limit.

    What a blessing to celebrate with so much of your family! Who needs gifts?

  8. June 14, 2010 8:33 pm

    How cute is that – my speed limit birthday – I’m going to go with it!

Leave a Reply

