Skip to content

This weekend I….

June 14, 2010

Keys to the Cottage

Bought Four gallons of blackberries

Spray painted our white wicker furniture hunter green

Cooked fried okra for the very first time in my life

Stayed up til 1:30 am sorting out my craft room

.
Started this sweater over for the EIGHTH time

Got my 1941 Ball canning guide in the mail

Visited a church for the second time and was grateful to be there. The message wasn’t great and the music wasn’t either but I was still grateful to be there

Had Don cut the legs off our antique bassinette so Miss Addie can reach it to play dolls when she visits us

Had a double date with my husband and son – and caught the biggest fish!

Bargained with God for a year off my life when our 3 1/2 year old grandson, Landon went to the hospital this weekend. (He’s fine now TYG)

Surprised our neighbor with a new pair of crocs for future help repairing our boathouse shingles

Baked brownies and ate a couple few

For more weekend stuff go over to Becky’s place – Keys to the Cottage

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 9:03 pm

    “Got my 1941 Ball canning guide in the mail”.

    That. makes. me. smile.

    • June 14, 2010 9:45 pm

      Oh me too Kelly – I got it for $10 – knew it would make my mother-in-law smile just to know I have it. And I plan to wear the daylights out of it, what isn’t already that is.

  2. June 15, 2010 9:51 am

    I agree with Kelli … how fun. But others not so fun. I am so sorry to hear about Landon. I sure hope it is his LAST trip to the hospital poor little guy.

    Your list is so great. Surprise crocs, brownies, the biggest fish, a bassinet for Addie. You had a great weekend.

    And thanks for listing. I am so glad you played along.

  3. June 15, 2010 2:44 pm

    Eight times? I’m sorry – I hope this is the last time. If you are like me when you finally “get it” you will wonder “so, what was so difficult about that?”!

    And as a pastor’s wife, I love, love, LOVE your church visit summary! If it wasn’t about the message, and it wasn’t about the music, hmmmm….I wonder, it must have been about HIM!

    Great list!

    • June 15, 2010 7:42 pm

      Indeed Robin, it was just good to be in church with other believers again. I was blessed to look around, over heads, wondering who God might have in mind for us to get to know, serve with, minister to, be loved by – it was great!

  4. June 16, 2010 9:07 pm

    Go, sweater, go! You can do it! :o)
    You have to be one of the sweetest neighbors ever!!

    Hope your week is as good as your weekend!
    Love and blessings, Karen

  5. June 19, 2010 6:14 pm

    So, how’d the okra turn out? I dearly love fried okra. I don’t cook it as often as I’d like, because I simply don’t like frying (mess and fat grams), but okra and green tomatoes are two fried foods we enjoy each summer.

    • June 19, 2010 9:41 pm

      I adore fried okra so I was bound and determined to learn. I just bought a Fry Daddy recently (to make donuts with the grandkids) so I thought I’d give it a try. Helped a lot with the mess, I saved the oil afterwards in a mason jar in the fridge for the next batch. I used fish fry batter and it turned out pretty darned good. My non-southern husband gave it a thumbs up at least.

      Bev

Leave a comment