Skip to content

A finished sewing room…

June 19, 2010

is a thing of joy for hours and hours and hours… but not when it looks like this.

You tend to avoid the area when it’s this big a mess.This is what it looked like on moving day and for the next nine months before we actually moved in.

It didn’t improve much the first two months we lived in the house either.

By golly, soon as I had a can of paint I went to town, with a nice sage green.

We ordered four bookcases online through Walmart because I have a F.E.W. books.

Within forty-eight hours of getting serious about finishing it was done. Thanks to Bev, the painter,

and Don the fantastic husband who will hang everything on the walls for me and never complain. Even when he can see,

plain as the nose on his face, exactly how many books his wife owns.

The piano landed here, and I’m thinking it’s a good place for it –

I can shut the windows and practice away without causing anyone to suffer. Our PA neighbors

GAVE us that piano if we’d just carry it home!

Dear Don put in a couple more closet shelves and it’s perfect now – packed full but I can find everything pretty much.

And this is my sweet view out the front window, blooming crepe myrtles and a bird bath with regular visitors trying to escape the Texas heat.
Perfect, perfect, perfect! Now it’s going to be a thing of joy – it was so worth the wait.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2010 4:00 pm

    Oh, I love it and am trying not to be a tad bit jealous! One of these days, I’ll have a sewing room. For now, I have to settle for a corner of my desk!

    • June 19, 2010 5:24 pm

      Karen, I remember when I had a (pretty crummy actually) card table in the middle of our family room, threatening the kids within an inch of their lives if they touched a single dial on my machine. I think I appreciate this beautiful room more now, after waiting about 25 years for it! I told my husband to think of it as ‘my boat’.

      • June 21, 2010 3:14 pm

        There you go! You are right–something you have to wait years for makes you appreciate it all the more!

  2. Jackie permalink
    June 19, 2010 6:42 pm

    What a beautiful room it looks so professional and so invitingly charming. Job well done.

  3. June 19, 2010 6:52 pm

    I love it! It looks like a wonderful place to dream and create.

  4. June 19, 2010 6:56 pm

    This is beautiful, Bev! I adore the color – looks perfect with the white trim.
    And I agree, the piano is a lovely addition to this room.
    *sigh*
    Have fun creating!

  5. June 19, 2010 7:58 pm

    You are right … it is PERFECT!! What a great place to enjoy the retirement years. I expect to see some wonderful creations coming from this room. It deserves a busy sewist 🙂

  6. June 19, 2010 7:59 pm

    It really does look perfect Bev. You are settling in nicely. I hope it is really feeling like home to you.

    • June 19, 2010 9:43 pm

      Linda, day by day it’s feeling more like home. We’ve been here about 10 weeks and it no longer feels like we’re renting someone else’s house 🙂 I’m also reading “After the Boxes Are Unpacked”, by Susan Miller – she has great perspective on moving and starting over. Highly recommend it to anyone in our shoes.

  7. June 20, 2010 8:59 am

    Very comfy, cozy and crafty looking! Good work!

  8. June 20, 2010 4:13 pm

    Wonderful! Can’t wait to take a little sewing lesson in there! Counting down the days!

    • June 21, 2010 12:31 am

      Me too – we’ll have to think up some fun project to work on while you’re here. Hurry! xoxo

  9. June 21, 2010 7:26 am

    Lovely! I must say that I’m a bit jealous….your room looks to be about 2 or 3 times the size of mine. But, at least I have one! And what a mess it is…..perhaps your pictures will inspire me to tidy up today!

Leave a Reply

