Skip to content

A Happy Sunporch Redo

June 28, 2010

They say “imitation is the most sincere form of flattery” so when my daughter, Sarah redid their porch a year or so ago, I so loved it I decided we needed to redo ours and just borrow all her great ideas. 

Warm and cozy, homey from top to bottom, full of comfy furniture and stuffed pillows, games to play, books to read, and a fabulous checkerboard pattern painted on the floor.

I love that this house came with a small, screened in sunporch but it did not possess much charm or warmth or coziness. It was drab and univiting.

Not to fret – that’s what paint was created for! Almost anything looks better with a fresh coat of paint. We started by painting all the white wicker furniture a ‘charleston green’, then after a visit to the newly discovered fabric store in town (thank you, God!) I came home with red and yellow and green fabrics. Just the ticket. Please don’t ask to see the zippers in the back of the pillows. My home ec teacher would give me an ‘F’ but they work. New coat of green paint on the wicker furniture and new cushions – an improvement already.

Empty – boring but full of possibilities.

After emptying the room of everything, and vacuuming the floor, we applied two coats of creamy white. It already looked better (and my husband may have suggested we leave it as it was right then but one of us explained they would never, ever be satisfied with just a boring white floor.)  I used up all the drips of paint left over from painting the outside of the house to paint the trim around the screens. Not fun painting but it looked much better afterwards.

Painting anything outdoors in Texas in mid-summer is not for the faint of heart. We kept ice water on hand, lots of it.

After the floor had two coats of creamy white on it we started tracing the checkerboard pattern. If you want to know how to do this, go watch this video. We went with 12″ squares because our porch isn’t very big. Bigger squares would have looked overwhelming to the space.

Then we went to town, painting all the squares that didn’t have a blue ‘x’ in them. These would stay white.

I’d paint a few rows, then Don followed behind, pulling the masking tape up, while the paint was still wet, as I kept painting the uncrossed squares black. It took two coats of paint, the second one being done freehand.

Thank you, Don for the oh so flattering photo of me!

I’m completely in love with this room – I wish every one of you could come sit here with me and drink sweet tea, not that you’d want to since it’s 100 degrees much of the time.

Overall, the entire project cost us around $75 in paint and polyurethane, around $30 for 10 cans of spray paint and the fabric to cover the pillows. If I could I’d sleep out here I’m so in love with it, and maybe, just maybe I can talk Caiden into a campout here sometime soon.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 11:05 pm

    Looks great! Can’t wait to see it in person. And, yes…I’ll take some sweet tea (even in 100 degrees; I love you that much!).

    See ya soon, Mama.

  2. Mary Huckaby permalink
    June 29, 2010 6:00 am

    Wow! I am so impressed! You all did a wonderful job. You’re giving me so many good ideas. What’s your NEXT project? Ha!

    BTW, I followed your directions and covered a chair seat the other day. It looks a ton better and I’m so proud of myself (thanks to you!)

    Mary

    • June 29, 2010 8:36 am

      Mary, hurrah for you! Doesn’t it feel so good to do something yourself?

  3. June 29, 2010 7:10 am

    It looks great! Well done!

  4. June 29, 2010 7:22 am

    This is the most fun porch…… you and Don are a great redecorating team!!! I’ll be coming :o))

    • June 29, 2010 8:37 am

      Karen (and Burl) We’d LOVE to have you guys here for a visit – don’t even need to bring poles. We have a ‘lending rack’ of poles for lake visitors, so come on down!

  5. June 29, 2010 8:03 am

    I’s sit out there with you in a heartbeat. I see a ceiling fan. That and sweet tea is all this former Florida girl needs in the heat of summer. Wouldn’t that be fun!?

    I think it is amazing. Just as impressive as when I saw Sarah’s porch. I love it. I love the black and white squares. I saw a house with black and white squares in their kitchen and it was so charming.

    Enjoy! I know you will.

    • June 29, 2010 8:37 am

      Miss Becky, open invite – anytime. 🙂

  6. June 29, 2010 9:05 am

    I love it!

  7. Lisabeth permalink
    June 29, 2010 12:20 pm

    Oh Bev! It looks so wonderful! So cozy! My favorite place in my house is my back porch. And we do sleep out there on our couch that folds out to a double bed! OK, I’ll admit…Bill really has to beg cause the bed is really hard, but waking up to the summer sounds is so lovely!

  8. Cynthia permalink
    June 29, 2010 12:33 pm

    Bev, I LOVE your porch. You did a great job. I have a screened in porch too and it is my favorite place to go too (when it isn’t 100)

  9. June 29, 2010 5:13 pm

    Applause to you both! It looks wonderful. I’d drink tea with you in there anytime!

  10. June 29, 2010 5:21 pm

    It is an amazing transformation! I’m truly impressed that you guys did it in this goshawful heat, too. You are certainly hardy enough to handle Texas! 🙂

    Oh, and I remember when your daughter, Sarah did the checkerboard porch and posted about it. Creativity (and energy!) certainly runs in your family. 🙂

  11. June 30, 2010 10:15 am

    Screened in porches are the best. I grew up in a house that had one, and I can guarantee you that I spent every possible moment each and every summer in a rocking chair, on that porch. It’s where I learned to sew, where we often ate, and where we chatted away hot summer evenings. I would love to have one now, but alas….

  12. Vickie permalink
    July 1, 2010 12:44 pm

    It looks terrific and makes me wish for a screened porch of my own. I love the clock too.

  13. July 1, 2010 1:31 pm

    Bev, I love it!!! I would sip a glass of tea with you there anyday!! It’s so fun to see all that you and Don are doing to your new home. I hope you are having fun while doing it–and I know you are, even though you are having to sweat your way through it!

    Love and blessings, Karen

  14. Karen H permalink
    July 5, 2010 12:29 pm

    So Ms. Yellow Rose of Texas…you sure are settling in! I love, love, love that porch….do hope we get to have tea there soon! Missing you and all your wisdom and ‘isms’!

  15. July 8, 2010 10:10 am

    Love it! What a beautiful room:-)

    Sweet tea? I tolerate any temps for sweet tea, especially in such a cozy sun porch!

Leave a Reply

