Skip to content

Perfect summer top

July 1, 2010

I bought the fabric to sew some summer tops back when Deb at Homespun Living posted about hers, using Simplicity 4589. Finally, finally I got around to it.

In the meantime I bought a new sewing machine that has lots of fun stitches.

I used a border fabric, but didn’t have enough so the yoke was plain. One of my machine stitches filled the bill nicely, I thought.

I also noted tips from my sister who sewed it several times -she’d warned me there were issues with sewing the yoke. (You can see it here in her recent post.)

Then I added 2 inches to the length. I could have added 3 inches, being long in the torso, and next time I will.

Because I totally will make this top again, at least once and possibly several. Texas is hot so I can’t have too many of them.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 7:16 am

    Very cute! I’ve never used a border fabric before, but I think you might have just inspired me to pick one up next time I’m fabric shopping. Nice idea on the stitches too…that wouldn’t have occurred to me!

  2. July 2, 2010 8:10 am

    I remember when those first fancy machines came out. My mom bought one and we had so much fun bordering everything we made. I was just a little girl then, but already sewing like a bandit.

    I love your top, and you are so right, you need to make a lot more.

  3. July 2, 2010 2:47 pm

    The top is really cute! My summer wardrobe is all about being cool. It preempts fashion for me. With that top, you’ll be cool AND fashionable. Yea for you! Don’t you just love Deb’s Homespun Living blog? Her pictures make me want to step right into her house and yard.

    • July 2, 2010 3:07 pm

      Absolutely – love, love her website – full of inspiration.

Leave a Reply

