Skip to content

Summer Schedule just makes me happy…

July 17, 2010

So I love schedules. And lists. And new notebooks. And pens. And fun paper. Possibly a new definition of the word, N.E.R.D.

But I think it really comes from the fact that I love order, not as an end but as a means to an end. The end being time to do the things I enjoy, or that are more important than, say scrubbing toilets, but maybe not as urgent as scrubbing toilets can be.

After three months plus a little of our new lives I took the time, while we were traveling, to set up some kind of schedule. It’s nothing like the ones that worked for me for the past 30 years, but then our life is nothing like it’s been for the past 30 years either. I decided to think about how I function best, what we like to eat, how much I want to cook and how clean our house really needs to be (not overly). Here’s what I came up with:

Monday – clean 1/2 day, menu (sometimes frozen, sometimes homemade) pizza and salad

Tuesday – deskwork 1/2 day, menu fish (sometimes from the lake, sometimes from the store) or seafood

Wednesday – play 1/2 day or whole – menu chicken in some fashion

Thursday – clean 1/2 day, errands as needed, menu pasta – vegetarian or with protein thrown in

Friday – yardwork 1/2 day, out to eat or friends in – no kitchen for me!

Saturday – project / hobby day, menu beef or friends in (or both) (usually grilling which means HE cooks)

Sunday – church, lazy day, menu soup, salad and bread

So it’s not set in stone, I can flipflop days if we need to, but after taking it out on the dance floor for a week I got more done this week than in the past ones. The bills are paid and finances are caught up, most of the bathrooms are clean, the laundry got done, I didn’t walk into the kitchen one single night and wonder what we were going to eat, and I had time to get my hair done, run errands and today is project day!

I’m spending the entire day cutting out and sewing London blinds for the kitchen windows – four of them. Four windows that have never had a curtain on them. They look out to the lake and I don’t want to block the view, so London blinds it is. I got inspired here, by my daughter, Sarah who learned to sew two years ago and is flying right past me in # of projects completed and possibly in ability. This is what her blinds look like; I chose Waverly fabric (too?) and can’t wait to see what the windows look like with some dressing on them.

Project day – an entire day set aside to work on and / or complete a project wouldn’t have happened if I didn’t plan for it. Or it would have happened but the house would have been a mess, we wouldn’t have had any clue what we were eating tonight, and I wouldn’t have enjoyed it nearly as much.

Schedules – just make me happy, even in the middle of the lazy, hazy days of summer. I’m thinking my husband will enjoy me hiding working in my sewing room all day much more, knowing I’ll come out eventually and there’s a plan for supper tonight. Menu? Beef.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 1:43 pm

    You’ve inspired me. I’ve never been a schedule type person….and my house shows it. I always make lists when I’m preparing for a trip, or when we’re getting the travel trailer ready for camping. If I didn’t, I’d inevitably forget things we need, and to do things needing doing. So, why have I not bothered to try this concept in my daily life? Beats me, but I’m gonna give it a go!

    • July 17, 2010 10:02 pm

      Renna, I’d be sunk, sunk without a schedule. I have a copy of mine posted on the fridge and in my calendar, so when I make appointments, etc. I can take a look and see how to fill my days. Hope my basic schedule will be a good place for you to start finding what works best for you.

  2. July 17, 2010 2:16 pm

    Good for you, from one NERD to another!

  3. July 17, 2010 3:38 pm

    I just love what Sarah did to her bedroom. She is one clever and creative and talented amateur designer. Your curtains will be lovely. I can’t wait to see the finished product. Enjoy the process.

  4. July 17, 2010 4:47 pm

    I love that sort of order too Bev. It worked well for me until things like aging parents and family health problems made it a little more difficult. Most weeks I can stick to some sort of schedule, and I love it. Some weeks my days are nothing like I planned them to be. All just part of life.

  5. July 17, 2010 7:53 pm

    hey bev

    i’m daniel martin’s mom. i started reading your journal lately and really enjoy hearing about you settling in at the lake. i know your dallas family is SO glad to have you both here.

    oh by the way, i fill the nerd shoes too. hahahaha

    • July 17, 2010 10:00 pm

      Melanie, I’m so honored to have you reading! Daniel and Kristen have told me much about you – you must be so excited about that new grandbaby just around the corner. Thanks for stopping by and taking time to comment.

  6. July 17, 2010 9:01 pm

    looks smart and easy. 6+ months of this different life for me and i’ve yet to be able to find a rhythm that works for me. i guess i have time, right?

    • July 17, 2010 10:01 pm

      Dianne, I guess we’re such creatures of habit that when our whole world changes it’s hard to figure out where to start putting it back together. Hope you’re enjoying your time at home – I’ve enjoyed your blog and the fun links you have.

Leave a Reply

