Skip to content

This Weekend I…

July 19, 2010

Keys to the Cottage

went on a date to Walmart. Seriously.

did a little dance in my heart when they still had their fabric department.

sewed london blinds for the kitchen windows.

went to church and loved, loved being there.

watched Princess and the Frog and wondered why Disney makes such scary movies for kids?

let hubby help me make Sunday supper and thanked him profusely for the extra pair of hands.

slept til I wasn’t tired both mornings. Divine.

told Miss Kitty she makes our home a nicer place to be.

didn’t shower. For three days. Probably a priority today.

bought a dress to wear to church. I can’t remember the last time I bought a dress.

talked to four old Landon about his Uncle D catching a 140 lb shark, and when he asked if Uncle D used a bobber and worms I said, ‘yes’ and giggled to myself at a four year old’s way of thinking about things.

told eight year old Caiden, when he asked to come see us, that he could ‘come anytime you want’ and loved his response: “Here, talk to mama.’

made plans to completely clean the garage this week. We’re a balmy 94 one day this week so that’s target date!

was thankful, hopeful, encouraged.

For more ‘This Weekend’ you can go here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 11:16 am

    Sounds absolutely wonderful, and I am so glad your Walmart still has their fabric department. The are in the process of redoing both of our local stores, and it occurred to me last week that I didn’t see the fabric or crafts anymore. What a bummer! What is that all about, I wonder?

    Don’t you just love grandchildren close enough to visit, and the fact that they want to? My 11 year old just left with my parents for the day so I can work. If I know her their first stop will be Dollar General… because only Nana will take her there which makes it a high priority for their dates:-) So sweet to hear that your lake home has become a haven for your whole family!

  2. July 19, 2010 3:04 pm

    Living in a small town myself, I TOTALLY get the “date to WalMart” thing! And most certainly a blessing that yours still has fabric!!!

    I felt the same way about Princess and the Frog–completely disappointed (and sad about the nightmares it caused for a few nights afterwards).

    So glad your hunt for a home church is going well!

    Love and blessings,
    Karen

  3. July 19, 2010 3:44 pm

    I giggled at the bobble and worm comment. 😉
    So far, so good with our Wal-Mart’s fabric dept. We are fortunate, even though our town is small, to have a few other options, though.
    I’m so happy for you that you’ve found a church to fulfill you. That’s such an important part of feeling settled.
    My ears perked at that (only) 94 degree day. I’ll have to check our forecast and see if we’re having a similar ‘cool front’ (hah!). You learn to sieze those days when you get them, for outside work!
    Have a great week, Bev; it sure sounds like you had a great week-end!

  4. July 19, 2010 4:40 pm

    Love it! It all sounds really good, Bev. 94….. we could do with that around here for a while. It is going to rain for the next week and summer seems to have departed.

  5. July 19, 2010 5:21 pm

    Woo Hoo … No shower for 3 days?!?!? You are my official hero. I love it! When you have no where to be and no where to go … why bother??

    I have not seen a Walmart with fabric for years and boy do I miss it. Lucky you!!

    The Butler and I go on dates to walmart too. And Kroger. And our favorite … Trader Joe’s!! I’ll take a date any time I can get it. He even called a funeral a date once … “We had food, and music, and I held your hand.” I love the way he thinks.

    Have a great week, Bev.

    • July 19, 2010 5:31 pm

      Food and music and holding hands – indeed a date! As long as he didn’t share his sentiments with the family of the deceased, and maybe they would have gotten a chuckle over it. I’d love it if everyone who comes to my funeral someday thought it was a ‘date’.

Leave a Reply

