Skip to content

Busted by Crummy Pizza

July 23, 2010

About two months ago my daughter, Sarah came for a visit at the lake. One evening when she was with us I neglected to plan for supper. As the evening got later and later I dug in the cupboards and came up with ingredients for a homemade pizza that were borderline at best. We sat at the table, munching on the thick, bready crust, the sauce that tasted mostly like tomato paste from the can and other ingredients that tasted true to themselves, dug up from the bottom of the vegetable drawer or back of the cupboard.

After Sarah and the kids drove away Don and I sat down at the kitchen table, chatting about the visit. Somewhere in the conversation he popped up with, ‘Bev, that pizza Sarah made was the worst pizza I’ve ever had. The crust was A.W.F.U.L.’ When you’re 59 that’s covering a lot of pizzas.

I took a breath, knowing the truth would embarrass him but not willing to let Sarah hold the blame for the poor cuisine. ‘Don, I made that pizza.’

‘Oh.’ Not another word. Just ‘oh.’

Sarah and I laughed about it when I told her, and she was just glad she hadn’t really made it after a recent visit to her home when she’d offered up some homemade cinnamon rolls sans sugar. A few of us ate them politely but the more outspoken family members (some of which were under 10 and some were not…) told her they were terrible. So she wasn’t very excited to hold the blame for the crummy pizza too.

This past week I made another pizza. I went with a recipe from Pioneer Woman’s blog, and if you’re one of the few people on the planet who haven’t heard of her, run over. Everything she cooks is wonderful. Everything. I didn’t say healthy but at our house we’re generally more concerned with wonderful than healthy, especially after the recent pizza disaster. Much better. Not perfect but that was my fault, not hers. I just need a bit more practice. The crust was particularly easy to handle and made enough for two pizzas. It also keeps in the fridge for several days.I used ham, red onion, and chopped peppers.
Topped with mozzarella pizza and a bit of parmesan too.

And Don? Ate every single bite and never said a word.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2010 6:58 am

    He should have said MANY words!

  2. July 23, 2010 8:24 am

    “Oh.”
    Love it!

    I’ll have to check this recipe out. I have been wanting to grill pizzas forever and still haven’t worked up the courage to try it. Maybe I will with her crust recipe. (I’ll have to try it when my Mom is here though. That way if it is bad Rusty might think it was her? HA!)

  3. July 23, 2010 9:12 am

    I also have a great crust recipe, but I haven’t used it in ages without the boys to feed. We tend to buy a good loaf of some kind of bakery bread, cut it in half lengthwise, and put all our own “stuff” on it. Easy. But not as good at the real “homemade”.

    Hey, I’m sending you an email today 🙂

  4. July 23, 2010 9:45 am

    And that is precisely why I let Pizza 73 make my pizza. LOL. I am not known for my great homemade pizzas.

  5. July 23, 2010 4:22 pm

    I’ll have to try out that recipe soon. I’ve made several of her recipes, all with great success.

    After living in this small town for many years, with no decent pizza places, a Papa Murphy’s moved in here a few years ago. I don’t know about all locations, but this one makes superb pizza; always fresh ingredients, always served hot, as it’s baked in my oven.

    Poor Sarah, cinnamon rolls are a lot of work, so I can imagine her dismay when she realized her error. My daughter made a cherry pie (her first pie) a few years ago when she was visiting relatives for Thanksgiving. She said it looked delicious, and that the taste was divine. It’s downfall was the fact that the canned cherries she bought were not pitted. The first one to bite into it nearly cracked a tooth. Ouch! ;-Þ

    Enjoy your weekend, Bev!

  6. July 23, 2010 4:58 pm

    Bev, I have been busted a few times by lousy pizza crust. Can you point me to the specific link on PW’s blog for her crust? I cannot seem to find it.

    A sheer lack of caffeine in the house is surely to blame ….

    I thank you.

    My family, however, thanks you more.

  7. July 23, 2010 5:25 pm

    Looks yummy! And, Gosh. I hope he never said that of anything that I’ve cooked for him! Makes me a little nervous… 😉

Leave a Reply

