Skip to content

Country Mouse – City Mouse

August 1, 2010

When our daughter mentioned her family was going on vacation for a week, but needed someone to housesit  – it took me all of five seconds to tell them we’d be more than happy to come stay for a week. The only thing I asked for was coffee and creamer. Yesterday I crammed my car completely full of knitting, quilts to finish, several books, gardening tools, deskwork, and my GPS so I can check out shops and such. I’ve been told there’s a fabulous quilt store in Carrollton, not that I know where Carrollton is, but ‘Girlfriend’, my GPS does and she’ll take me right to it. Possibly Lifeway for tabs for a new Bible, and the closest Sonic.

Don drove separately so he can go back, midweek, to mow and pet the cat. And maybe eat cheap, frozen pizza, fish a little, not make the bed, watch shows that start with autopsies, stay up too late, sleep too late and whatever else guys like to do. Then he’ll rejoin me to finish out the week with a birthday party for our daughter-in-law, Janae and to hear our son-in-law, Chris preach. Does that not all sound fabulous or what?!

I plan to get up early, enjoy the wonderful sitting spot in their bedroom , then fill my coffee cup and head outdoors. Let ‘the girls’ out so they can eat grasshoppers while I enjoy playing in the garden. Hopefully cucumbers, green beans and yellow squash will be ready to pick, and eat.

I’ll play with their dogs all week long, just enough to get dogs out of my system (cats rule – dogs drool). This one, Scout, is ‘the good dog’ or ‘Fancy’ as our grandson, Landon calls him. He’ll be my constant companion all week, and sleep on the floor next to me. If it weren’t for his breath he’d be the perfect dog. And the shedding. The breath and the shedding.  

We’ll wander into town in the evenings for some Olive Garden or another restaurant not available in our neck of the woods, spend time at Barnes and Noble (thank you, God for a husband who loves B&N as much as I do), and/or Marble Slab, or Slabbage as our family calls it.

After hubby bails on me mid-week I plan to finish a quilt started three years ago, restart my bucket list sweater, sew several skirts, finish Laura Bush’s autobiography, practice piano, and soak in the tub at night. I may bake bread, find the honey jar or Sarah’s strawberry jam, and call that breakfast for several days at least.

Can you believe they didn’t ask us to pay them?!

So if you have a similar set-up and need someone to take over your house for a week, if your part of town offers more than a gas station that serves fried catfish on Friday nights, and anything that resembles a bookstore or fabric shop – feel free to give me a holler. I’m thinking this is the cheapest vacation we’ve ever taken. This week – no lake, but rather civilization – people, places and things to explore and enjoy all week long.

And if you feel so inclined, you’re free to pray against black rat snakes, coyotes or hawks that eat chickens. I may be a country mouse but those all scare the dickens out of me.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 10:38 am

    Wow! Sounds like you’re on vacation. Have a great week.

  2. August 1, 2010 4:04 pm

    I think that sounds amazing! You are going to have a great time … and no snakes. I’m sure of it. Well, I hope so anyway. Have fun fun fun!!

  3. August 1, 2010 10:58 pm

    I think becoming a professional house sitter sounds like a great idea:-)
    What a fabulous week / vacation , and it will be so much more fun for Sarah and the family to come home to grandparents instead of a stuffy, empty house.
    Enjoy your week!

  4. August 2, 2010 5:10 am

    I wouldn’t pray against the black snakes, but I will pray that no copperheads or rattlers show up!

    Enjoy your stay in civilization!

    • August 2, 2010 6:44 pm

      Theresa, appreciate any snake prayers coming my way 🙂

  5. August 2, 2010 5:48 pm

    Sounds fabulous!! Enjoy it like crazy!!

    Are you loving Laura Bush’s book as much as I did?? I think she is such a classy lady, and if I had a bucket list, having tea with her would be near the top!

    • August 2, 2010 6:44 pm

      Karen, I decided years ago to read the autobiographies of First Ladies as a unique look into the presidency – wanted to see those years through a woman’s eyes. I’ve read several, including Barbara Bush and Rosalyn Carter – am and really enjoying this one – that she’s a Texas native makes it even more enjoyable. A great read regardless of anyone’s political leaning.

  6. Sarah permalink
    August 2, 2010 7:27 pm

    Thank you VERY much 🙂 I will come home with gifts, so that you want to do this every year or so!

    • August 2, 2010 7:41 pm

      I told Dad, when he drove away today, that it feels like a bed and breakfast, complete with dogs and chickens. We are blessed to do this for you – so wish we’d had parents who could pitch in when you guys were little. Dad headed home so I’m about to begin my three days of piano playing, sewing, quilting, reading, soaking, etc. enjoy your time away!

  7. August 3, 2010 9:50 pm

    Sounds amazing. Praying that my family enjoys the fruit of the committment that yours has. Hope you get tons of quilting done. I often hope for a day where I can vacation alone in my own house. 😛

Leave a Reply

