Skip to content

Froggin’ It…

August 5, 2010

If you’re a fellow knitter, you know what ‘froggin’ it’ is. It’s the horrible process of ripping your knitting out.

This is supposed to be my almost finished beautiful, first ever knitted sweater. Tonight I ripped it out, for the eighth time.

I believe I started this project mid-winter? I know I did an update in February, so it’s been on the needles awhile. Actually it’s spent more time being wound up in a ball, since I keep ripping it out and rewinding it.

I may be lacking skill but I’m not lacking determination. I did tell Don, tonight, if I die before I get this sweater finished, to please take whatever part of it is done and wrap it around some part of my body. Or ask my daughter, Sarah, to please get over her grief and spend the next three – five days knitting like crazy so I can wear it for eternity.

Seriously, how long did it take any of you knitters to finish your first sweater, and feel free not to leave a comment if you’re going to tell me something like two weeks.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 7:22 am

    I’ve never knitted and my hats off to you for doing this. I remember the first post about it. I’m making the simple Prayer Shawls that are made on a loam and I had to rip out about 7″ of the start of my 7th one Sunday. Did not know the word “Froggin”….. but now I do!! I believe the sweater will be finished :o)

    • August 5, 2010 8:45 am

      Susan – the first time I heard the term “Rip……it…..” it cracked me up. Or croaked would be more appropriate. Sarah is crocheting an afghan right now – she had to take out part of it and we both commented at how untraumatic it is to uncrochet, but to unknit? Oh my, not a pretty process!

  2. August 5, 2010 8:14 am

    I’ve got a wanna-be sweater on my needles right now but I have not touched it in about 7 months. It has been frogged several times … not eight … but enough.

    And if I have to frog it again it will become a lovely baby afghan. I’m gonna be a great-aunt! I just found out last night.

    • August 5, 2010 8:47 am

      I tell you, Becky, every time I take it out I think, maybe this should be 100 dishcloths….. When I consider what they would each cost I give myself a good talkin’ to and cast on again. I’ve ripped it out enough times when my husband sees me starting to tear it apart he just looks and says, ‘oh my….’

  3. Sandy permalink
    August 5, 2010 9:00 am

    I knitted a dress for my daughter when she was young. Luckily I was smart enough to make it 2 sizes too big because it tooke me so long to get it right that she had grown into it by the time it was finished. It was beautiful with lots of fancy stitches. My 2 granddaughters have both worn it also.
    I hope you found our Carrollton quilt shop. It is a wonderful place!

    • August 5, 2010 2:09 pm

      Sandy, I’ve heard of your quilt store – all the way in PA – it’s that famous! My daughter, Sarah, has visited it and told me it’s worthy of its reputation. Love that when you finally got that dress done it was passed down through generations.

  4. Sarah permalink
    August 5, 2010 9:30 am

    My first “sweater” ended up being re-knit as a cover for a porch cushion, after being ripped out more than 10 times. I feel your pain.

    Re-knit it up to row 11, and we’ll work on it when I get home. I am confident we can get this figured out! 🙂

    • August 5, 2010 2:10 pm

      Sarah, I know it’s when I get to the twisting – on row 11 and 12. The cable part actually seems pretty easy but somehow I’m making a mess out of that next technique, so obviously I need help, or I’m likely to become an ‘angry knitter’ again, as Dad puts it.

  5. August 5, 2010 9:38 am

    I feel your pain Bev. I’ve been knitting since I was a teenager, and done my share of ripping out and starting over.
    I’m wondering if perhaps you should find a really simple pattern for a first sweater and do that first. Is this one a complicated pattern?

    • August 5, 2010 2:14 pm

      Oh Linda, what on earth was I thinking? Sarah, who taught herself to knit, whipped up this sweater. She swears she struggled with it but I’ve seen it and it’s beautiful. So I loved it enough I had to try it too. It has a beautiful cabled pattern, the cables aren’t really that complicated but there’s one particular stitch that is my downfall – I know it but still can’t seem to fix it. I have the right # of stitches til I hit that point then I either have too many or not enough – and tend to drop them then too. Makes me gnash my teeth! I’m beginning to think I need to make a sweater for a Barbie doll first, before I attempt one for a grown woman!

  6. Maria permalink
    August 5, 2010 9:39 am

    I haven’t even attempted knitting a sweater yet. Now, in terms of sock knitting, I’ve got a second sock on the needles for a few months now. That darn heel is quite daunting!

    I know you can do the sweater! Looking forward to seeing your progress.

    • August 5, 2010 2:15 pm

      Maria, I’ve heard that socks are something too – so good for you for attempting it. You keep at it with that heel and I’ll keep at it with this cable pattern – hopefully we’ll both conquer them!

  7. August 5, 2010 10:48 am

    My sympathy is with you. I can’t even successfully start a dishcloth, so you’re further ahead than I am!

    I’m intrigued by the term frogging. I’ve always heard it called tinking – knit spelled backwards.

    • August 5, 2010 2:16 pm

      Val – think frog talk – ‘ribbit, ribbit’ then switch to bad knitting – ‘rip it (out), rip it (out)’ – there you go! 🙂

    • August 5, 2010 2:18 pm

      BTW, LOVE tinking – perfect!

  8. August 5, 2010 11:31 am

    I’m still at the washcloth and scarf stage. I scared myself silly and might’ve used ugly talk when trying to knit-in-the-round.

    May I suggest: a fine chardonnay?

    Always helps quilting. Or at least it helps with dousing those flames of the rip-out.

    • August 5, 2010 2:12 pm

      Gretchen – AMEN! I’m pretty sure whoever invented knitting invented wine next. So maybe it was shepherds in Italy or France? Sarah taught herself to knit, using the Susan Anderson books and began with knitting in the round. She swears it’s easier – I agree that it’s the only way to go if you knit on planes. Those long metal needles scare passengers and tend to poke your seatmates in the ribs!

  9. August 5, 2010 1:09 pm

    Just came across your blog and am a fan already!

    • August 5, 2010 2:11 pm

      Amanda, thanks so much for taking time to visit. Hope you’ll be back to visit again.

  10. Jean permalink
    August 6, 2010 1:55 pm

    My first sweater was knit in – gosh, can’t remember – but it was months. And then when it was all done it turned out that the darned thing was too small. I knit it to my bra size, no ease allowed. Duh! So it sat in my closet for about 2 years until I finally frogged it to use the yarn for something else.

    What a learning experience for me.

    I will say that experience #2 was much more successful, and I actually wear the darned thing!

    • August 6, 2010 8:28 pm

      Oh Jean, I would have been so sad. I remember making a wrap-around skirt, now that I think about it, tried it on (after giving birth to my first child), it didn’t wrap all the way around, I took it off, put clothes on, opened the back door, walked down the sidewalk, took the lid off the trash can and tossed it in. Guess I was disgusted. You were way more mature about your mistake.

  11. August 6, 2010 4:18 pm

    Living in Texas, and going through menopause (aka hotflash h*ll), I’ve not yet been inspired enough to knit a sweater. If you ever complete yours, I may take that as a thrown-down gauntlet and actually attempt one. 😉

    • August 6, 2010 8:30 pm

      Renna, I did have the owner of the yarn shop in PA ask me, ‘so why do Texans knit?’ And she was serious. I did choose a light cotton yarn so I can wear it more of the year than if it was a heavy wool, which would mean I could wear it about two weeks in January, maybe. And I’ll let you know – it’d be fun to have dueling sweaters!

Leave a Reply

