Skip to content

Home Again, Home Again….

August 9, 2010

After being gone 8 days, housesitting for our daughter’s family, we’re home. I’m home. And doesn’t your own bed always feel the best? If I’d been staying at the Ritz Carlton, I’m pretty sure my own bed would still feel fabulous.

I wasn’t able to upload photos from my camera last week, but here are a few to share:

The perfect southern meal, in Texas August heat – fresh green beans, a couple of eggs and sun tea.

Hen laying an egg. They pant, much like women in labor! She’s actually laying in a horse feeding trough.

Grasshoppers abound in the garden this time of year.

They’re almost pretty if you can get your brain around that thought. The jury is still out in my case.

Hens enjoying a split watermelon and some garden scraps. They ate it up!

Three fire ant bites on one finger made for a hand that stayed swollen for days!

And finally, we met our son, daughter-in-law and baby Jae for some Greek food one night. Look at that baby! Look at that baby headband! Aren’t little girls just nice?

I managed to finish a quilt for another grandson, finish a skirt for me, get some bills paid, finish a book, shop a bit, see a silly movie with Don – then have some time with our kids when they made it back home, hear our son-in-law preach on being a witness, rather than doing witness – noun versus verb (gave me much food for thought!).

Overall, fantastic house-sitting! We were blessed to be there for a week.

This week?
Remake the window treatments (Roman vs. London Shades – ripping them out…).
Look at IPads after my son-in-law showed us how fantastic they are (anybody have one, any thoughts?)
Pick up Eat, Love, Pray (or it the other way around?) at the library (anyone read it?)
and enjoy some nesting here at home. Every single day is going to be in the 100’s so we’re mostly just trying to stay cool and ride out the rest of summer. Someone tell me September will be cooler…

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Huckaby permalink
    August 9, 2010 12:51 pm

    Hi Bev,

    Loved all the pics! I’m with you…there’s no place like HOME! Can’t believe you described grasshoppers as ‘almost pretty.’ (Must be the Texas heat you’ve been getting too much of lately!) LOL.

    • Lisa M. permalink
      August 9, 2010 2:18 pm

      Love, Love, Love – Eat, Pray, Love. You’re reading it at a good time – just before the movie comes out. Looking forward to your comments on this book.

      • August 9, 2010 3:39 pm

        I so love reading a book, then going to see the movie and being able to put faces on the characters. And I absolutely Julia Roberts anyway – she’s such a fun actress!

    • August 9, 2010 3:38 pm

      Mary, the grasshoppers were pretty incredible to look at but I sure couldn’t touch one. I did, however, have fun flicking them with a big stick to the chickens, who promptly snapped them up – probably cruel but a good solution to the garden being overrun with them.

  2. August 9, 2010 2:55 pm

    Jae’s sweet little face cracks me up. What a cutie! I got an IPad for Mother’s Day and didn’t fall in love immediately. But, I must admit I really love it now. One of my favorite features is how fast you can scroll through a blog page. Ha! I have one book on it, and don’t know if I am going to enjoy that feature. A lot of the books are still pricey to download. Make sure you get a stand for it — your wrists will thank you. It turns on pretty fast compared to my laptop — love that feature. I started reading Eat, Pray, Love and it’s pretty slow moving so far. I really should finish it because I can’t wait to see the movie. Have a great week! Blessings! PS my daughter is taking her driving test again on Wednesday – 3rd time’s a charm? Thanks for your encouraging words.

    • August 9, 2010 3:37 pm

      Karen, baby faces are just funny anyway šŸ˜‰ I was so surprised to even see what an IPad was, don’t know what I thought but wasn’t that. Sarah told me there are literally 10,000 books to download for free and since I read a lot of older fiction I should be able to get them, even the ones that are out of print. I love books but my shelves are bulging so maybe online is a good thing for me, and I didn’t even think about being able to read blogs – how great is that? Praying your daughter makes it this time – it’s so hard being a teenager, they don’t need discouragement heaped on discouragement.

  3. August 9, 2010 4:28 pm

    I didn’t know chickens would eat garden scraps. Are those scallions? They’ll eat scallions? Imagine. A chicken with bad breath. LOL

    That baby couldn’t be any cuter. I love her headband.

    And sorry, but the grasshoppers are not pretty. They’re crunchy and not pretty. Ugh.

    I know from your emails you had a great week at Sarah’s but I can certainly understand how good your own bed felt that first night back home. šŸ™‚

    • August 9, 2010 5:17 pm

      I googled it and was amazed at what they eat – love all carbohydrates, and just about anything that will grow in the garden, so you can’t leave them out there long. Soon as they run out of grasshoppers they move on to tomatoes, green beans, melons, and possibly the only pumpkin that is growing in the garden, waiting for October – yep – ate it right up!

  4. August 9, 2010 5:09 pm

    You certainly don’t let grass grow under your feet! šŸ˜‰

    I totally agree about one’s own bed. It is THE best part about coming home from a trip.

    I’m very anxious to hear your thoughts on Eat, Pray, Love. I’d not heard of it before I saw the movie trailer, and like you, I love watching Julia Roberts, so I’m really looking forward to seeing the movie. I know I should try and read the book first, too.

    I don’t have an IPad, but I have a friend who returned to college to get her degree in nursing this year (in her 50’s, yea for her!). She got one to use for school, and LOVES it.

    Stay cool! šŸ˜‰

    • August 9, 2010 5:19 pm

      Funny Renna, I’ve told Don many times my middle name is N.E.R.D., never was cool, never will be – but I guess my mom passed on to me a love of learning that never dries up. Soon as I saw what the IPad could do I was taken in – and they’re much less expensive than I was expecting!

  5. August 9, 2010 7:32 pm

    I didn’t love that book but it seems as if a large number of people do. Just didn’t strike a chord with me.

    • August 9, 2010 8:33 pm

      Thanks for the input – I’ll be interested to read it, then go see the Hollywood version.

  6. August 9, 2010 7:56 pm

    Love your son in laws message topic, exactly what I was saying ot my Mom last week but in a lot more words. Being a witness instead of doing witness- love it! I think I may borrow that phrase!

    • August 9, 2010 8:34 pm

      Kelly, it was great, and I was challenged to think of it differently too – never, ever saw it that way before.

  7. August 9, 2010 8:43 pm

    We have 10 days of 100+ temps and heat index of 110+ in our area. This has been a VERY hot summer and I cannot wait for spring. Everything in our yard is burned up, or burning up. Oh well, this too shall pass!!!

    • August 9, 2010 8:47 pm

      Susan – most encouraging verse in the Bible “and it came to pass…” I’m taking that to apply to Texas summers too.

  8. August 10, 2010 11:18 am

    I think I would just melt if it was 100 degrees over here. That is too hot for this gal.

    • August 10, 2010 11:42 pm

      Actually, this one too Susanne! I’m so ready for fall!

  9. August 10, 2010 11:41 am

    I meant to comment on your plea for assurance that September will be cooler. Just so you know, our summers pretty much last into October. However, the temps are a ‘little’ lower in September, and the humidity is much lower, so even with hot temps, after a hot A ND humid summer, September can be a welcome relief! šŸ™‚

    • August 10, 2010 11:43 pm

      Renna, I made the mistake of visiting in October once, and brought clothes to wear to a football game. Cordouroy slacks, sweater – I about burned up! If it’s even 10 degrees lower that would be a blessed relief.

  10. August 12, 2010 7:36 am

    I love my Ipad! I use it most of the time. I have read many books on it, I had a kindle which my daughter uses now. I did not like “eat, pray, love” at all, too new agey for this gramma. Regis said the movie is good, probably because the story gets only the highlights of the book?…

    • August 13, 2010 7:51 am

      Thanks Gail for the review – I know the movie comes out today, but I haven’t even started the book, so I’m going to read fast and hope it’s still at the movies. And I picked up my IPad last night – taking it out of the box this morning and very excited about the fact that I can download books onto it. Our little library is pretty limited in what we can get and my daughter told me many, many classics can be downloaded for FREE!

Leave a Reply

