Skip to content

You Take the Bad, You Take the Good….

August 13, 2010

Bad – every day here hits at least ONE HUNDRED DEGREES.

Good – every day here is sunny.

Bad – the neighbor helped us ‘fix’ our plumbing, breaking the pipe off in the wall.

Good -$328 later to the neighborhood plumber, we’re good to go and the three outside faucets now work.

Bad – I’m covered with welts – big welts, from minor bugs that are biting me. My immune system seems to be on crazy mode.

Good – No black widows or brown recluse or any type of snake have bitten me.

Bad – My hairdresser has stood me up three times, and this time told me she made an appointment but didn’t.

Good – I found out three days ahead that I didn’t really have an appointment. In time to book with SOMEONE ELSE. GOOD RIDDANCE WICKED HAIRDRESSER!

Bad – My left knee is MESSED UP, I can barely walk on it, and the visit to the orthopedic surgeon this morning is looming in my brain.

Good – My right knee is great. For a crappy knee.

Bad – Our local (30 miles away) library has very limited resources.

Good – If I’m stuck recovering from knee surgery I bought a new IPAD yesterday, and can use it on the ground level of our house.

Good – It’s only a knee. Not cancer, not anything life-threatening, just movement hindering.

Good – the new hairdresser is $20 cheaper per appointment. Money I can put toward IPad applications, or downloadable books.

Good – I haven’t gotten bitten by a black widow or brown recluse, or snake. Worth repeating since the chances are pretty good where we live, and at the rate I’m moving I’m not going to be outrunning anyone. It would probably just make my right knee blow up too.

Good – I talked to my mom last night for an hour, and she let me moan and whine and complain for a solid 30 minutes. Sometimes we all need a shoulder to whine on.

And sometimes you just have to focus on the good. Choosing to do so today!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 9:52 am

    For every “bad” there’s a least one “good”! Thanks for reminding me! It’s been one of “those” months around here, too!

    One of my favorite poems (by Marcie Krugh) says:
    There are those who see only roses in life,
    pretending the thorns aren’t there at all,
    and those who see no roses at all,
    constantly cursing the thorns.
    Then there’s the Christian who sees both,
    knowing whom to praise for the blossoms,
    and where to run when thorns cause us pain.

    Hope your bites and your knee heal soon!

    • August 14, 2010 8:23 am

      Glenda, amen to that. So thankful to be able to have another view of this world!

  2. August 13, 2010 9:52 am

    Enjoyed the way you showed both sides of the coin.

  3. August 13, 2010 3:26 pm

    In November, it will still be sunny nearly every day, and not hot, but not freezing or snowy or icy. Your hair will calm down, since it’s not humid in the fall here (I promise, Dad!), and all the snakes and spiders are hibernating. Just tell yourself daily, “November’s coming.”

    You could let Dad cut your hair, you know.

    • August 14, 2010 8:24 am

      Sarah, the money dad would save would not be worth the grief he would have to deal with. Also gives him a two hour break from me!

  4. August 13, 2010 4:24 pm

    Loved this, Bev.
    It is easy to let the “bad” overwhelm us at times, but there is so much good to counter the bad if we look. Attitude is everything!
    I sympathise with your knee problems, and applaud your attitdue at the same time. I hope the orthopod gets it sorted for you soon. Have fun with the iPad! I can’t wait to get one one day too. Having limited mobility for now, it will be wonderful for you. I am borrowing my brother-in-law’s laptop while I am here in Switzerland and it makes such a difference having a computer on my lap while my feet are up!
    Have a great weekend!

    • August 14, 2010 8:25 am

      Linds, just the words ‘switzerland’ makes your life sound so exotic. Especially during a Texas august heatwave!

  5. August 13, 2010 5:05 pm

    Way to be positive, Bev! And I’m so sorry for all the “bads”–you seem to have an overabundance of them! But that iPad should help ease them some! :o)

  6. August 13, 2010 6:36 pm

    I’m sorry about your knee, Bev. Praying it gets better soon. I do love your positive outlook and looking for the good in the situations!

  7. Deb B. permalink
    August 13, 2010 8:43 pm

    Bev – I’ve been a lurker on your blog, your sister’s blog and your daughter’s blog for a long time. We just moved to 40 acres in Kansas, with a 90 year old farmhouse. I’ve been watching out for the blackwidows, brown recluse, and the snakes also. It is an entire life change for us as well. My 19 year old daughter loves it though. You make me laugh or smile each time I stop by.

    • August 14, 2010 8:21 am

      Hello deb 😉 so nice to meet you. 40 acres and an old farmhouse sounds wonderful! My father lives in Kansas and I’ve always thought it was a beautiful state. Thanks for taking time to say hello.

  8. Kalamazoo Sue permalink
    August 14, 2010 11:17 am

    “You take the b…” the song from Facts of Life–how timely. I’ll be in Indianapolis next week-end for a Women of Faith conference where one of Sarah’s friends, Lisa Whelchel, is one of the scheduled speakers!
    Prayers for your knee.
    (Eccles. 3 A time/season for everything…

  9. August 17, 2010 12:28 pm

    Bev,
    I’m sorry you have had to go through some of these bad days…….. we do have to look at the “good” to get past the rough times. Thanks for the reminders and I always try to look at what I can learn during the bad days to get past it!!!
    HUGS xo

Leave a Reply

