Skip to content

Nat’l Relaxation Day!

August 15, 2010

Today, August 15, is the official day for goofing off – hurray! You don’t have to tell me twice. So to honor it, here’s what I put on my list for the day:

Church

Lunch out at our new favorite Chinese restaurant

Nap on sofa with or without Miss Kitty

Eat slice of  chocolate cake on china plate

Curl up with the new beth Moore book, ‘So Long Insecurity’, which is already looking to be great stuff, of course.

Swim at the community pool later this evening.

Throw something super easy in the crockpot for supper.

Knit a bit on my ‘impossible dream’ sweater project.

Possibly eat another slice of chocolate cake, and I don’t even love chocolate, but it’s a holiday so I may cave to the pressure of being a bum for the entire day.

Feel free to join me in any or all of the above- this is my kind of holiday!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 4:26 pm

    Didn’t know it was a holiday and I have no chocolate cake but we do have some good pumpkin muffins with chocolate chips!!!

  2. Kathy permalink
    August 15, 2010 4:51 pm

    I wish I had known that today was National Relaxation Day earlier – not that it’s too late now to take advantage! ha! No chocolate cake here either, but some vanilla chocolate chip ice cream is definitely on my list (so is the Beth Moore book).

    • August 15, 2010 10:56 pm

      Kathy, I picked up the book at Walmart, two chapters in I’m thinking it’s the best $20 I’ve spent in awhile…

  3. August 16, 2010 8:02 am

    Sounds like a lovely day. My Sunday was a bit of work and play, but in the end, I was happy with it. First church, then four loaves of cinnamon bread baked (two of which were shared!), ironing done, family pictures uploaded to ancestry account, crocheted placemat finished, and wonderful movie watched.

    A swim in the pool sounds delicious. I assume that it is a neighborhood pool? I would love to see more pictures of your new community….would you consider posting some in the future?

    • August 16, 2010 12:53 pm

      Val – your day sounds pretty great too. I miss those days when Sundays were ‘go to church, come home to pot roast, nap on the sofa, supper and then Ed Sullivan with the entire family gathered around’ – they really were the good ole days, but maybe we can capture a bit of them again.

Leave a Reply

