Skip to content

What to do with Eat, Pray, Love….

August 20, 2010

Women are sounding off – they love the movie. I enjoyed it. I was entertained. But then, I’m a sucker for Julia Roberts – she’s so quirky it’s hard not to like her. And if you’ve spent any time with me, you know I have a deep, abiding love for movie popcorn in gargantuan amounts.

But I’m not reading the book.

Because there are so many books, and so little time.

After watching the movie, the book just isn’t calling my name. I would have enjoyed it more, I think, if it’d been fiction – an engaging story of a woman who is trying to find herself, and maybe? does at the end of the movie/book. Since it’s based on a true story it doesn’t really grab me so much.

The reviews I saw of the book picked up on the fact that all three countries she visits start with an ‘I’. She’s a little self-absorbed for my taste. I wasn’t completely in love with her visiting a toothless, palm-reading guy, and it just got old, country after country after country of trying to find herself. I’m not sure she really ever did.

I imagine the woman who is next in line at the library to get EPL, will be tickled I turned it back in so quickly. I did read in USA Today that Julia Roberts, who tends to keep her private life private, came out and told the press she’s Hindu. I don’t even know what I think about that except that it’s Hollywood and most of them are a little crazy, even when they have an engaging smile. Probably I should go for Fiction on the screen. Especially if it’s about a woman who can’t seem to get her life together. Like Mama Mia – I loved Mama Mia!

I turned in EPL and bought Beth Moore’s ‘So Long Insecurity’. If I’m going to read a book about figuring out life, I’m going to go with one that is at least pointed in the right direction.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2010 9:00 am

    I am so glad you reviewed this book/movie. I was feeling “out” of it for not reading it, but felt like the author was despertley seeking Jesus and never found him. I love movies and books about finding our true selves, but am always so sad when that doesn’t include the truth of God too.
    Wish hollywood would get the idea that Jesus can be cool too! It’s not always about some different path.
    I’ll set off my bandwagon now.
    Think I’ll go see Ramona and Beezus again, atleast then I leave the movie encouraged.

    • August 21, 2010 9:16 am

      Hello Jill:) I’m right there with you. In reality a lot of those moviestars we revere are pretty lost too. And I thought Ramona looked like a lot of fun!

  2. Maria permalink
    August 21, 2010 9:00 am

    I enjoyed the self-discovery and travel aspect of the book, EPL, and didn’t care for the movie at all. Also, I was able to attend a Beth Moore simulcast of her “So Long Insecurity” talk/presentation at my church in April. It was really cool. I’d never heard her speak before and enjoyed every moment of it. Have you checked out her website/blog? Very interesting and real. Enjoy your reading, Bev!

  3. August 21, 2010 9:09 am

    Somewhere along the line I saw an interview with Julia (about the movie). It seemed like something I miht not like and I’m pretty sure it’s something I might rent for $1 but not the movie price! Thanks for the review. Julia Hindu? SHEESH! hollywood!

    • August 21, 2010 9:18 am

      Melanie, this movie reminded me a lot of the life of the girl who did the Julie and Julia (Child) movie – lost, searching and never did find “it” $emus being the “it”.

    • August 21, 2010 9:19 am

      Melanie, still learning to use iPad! I meant Jesus, not emus!

  4. August 21, 2010 9:29 am

    I’ve not read the book, already decided against it, for pretty much the same reason as you, too much worthy stuff out there which will do me good, and too little time to read it all (LOVE Beth Moore!).

    I was invited to go with two girlfriends to see the movie this week, but my schedule that day wouldn’t allow it.

    I’ll probably wait and order the dvd from netflix. Some night when Hubby’s out of the house, I’ll sit down with a bag of microwave popcorn and a diet Dr. Pepper (or generic version thereof), and try and pretend it’s a fiction story.

    I also like watching Julia Roberts. She is pretty much why I’ll watch the movie. Like you said, she’s quirky. She’s endearing, and I love her laugh, which shows every tooth in her mouth. She’s a woman that women love to watch. I didn’t particularly suspect she was a christian woman, but the Hindu thing doesn’t really surprize me that much, considering, like you said, what comes out of Hollywood. Everyone is searching for God, but not everyone realizes how straight the path to Him is. That’s where we all come in, huh? πŸ™‚

    Have a great weekend, Bev. Fall’s nearly here, and you’re going to love Texas in the fall! πŸ™‚

  5. Shari (Southern Girl) permalink
    August 21, 2010 9:41 am

    Wise choice turning it back in! πŸ˜‰ I HAD to read it for a review for my job, and I think I can say with all certainty that I have never ever hated a book more than I did EPL. A “little self-absorbed”??? They must have toned it down for the movie because she was enormously self-absorbed in the book, not to mention narcisisstic. Utterly unlikeable, IMO. I found her to be very sad as well, especially in regards to her “finding God.” I’m pretty sure what she found was an idea of God that would allow her to feel comfortable with her choices in life. As annoyed as the book made me, I felt sorry for her.

    No plans to see the movie though… I lost all respect for Julia Roberts when she had an affair with a newly married man (a cameraman, her current husband) on the set of one of her movies, and then proceeded to trash his wife in public. 😦

  6. August 21, 2010 10:57 am

    I still haven’t seen the movie. None of the theaters around me are playing it since it’s a Sony movie (huh?). I will have to drive over an hour to see it, so I will add it to Netflix. I have the book and just can’t get into it. It is so slow moving, so off to the library it will go. Hindu — doesn’t surprise me. What is with all these stars and eastern religion? Just don’t get it, but then again I am definitely not lost. Ha! I really enjoyed So Long Insecurity. I also enjoyed Lisa Welchel’s new book on grown up relationships. I got a wireless keyboard for my IPad and it makes a world of difference when typing a lot. Have a great weekend!

    • August 23, 2010 6:46 pm

      Karen, I read Lisa’s book and she had some really good stuff in it. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting her and she’s as genuine as the day is long!

  7. August 21, 2010 12:55 pm

    If blogs had a “like” button I would push is 1000 times for this post! I think you are spot on with your thoughts!
    Thanks for saving me 10 bucks for a movie ticket!!!

    • August 23, 2010 6:48 pm

      Robin, thanks so much for your words of encouragement. We have a little boding theater in our town so we paid a whopping $2.25 each! that was about right…

  8. August 21, 2010 6:55 pm

    Appreciate your post SO much! I am totally with you on this!

  9. Sandy permalink
    August 22, 2010 4:40 pm

    I totally agree with everything you said!
    I am currently reading So Long Insecurity and loving it. I hope you do too.

  10. August 23, 2010 10:32 am

    So interesting! I picked up the book at the suggestion of a friend a year or so ago, and just couldn’t get into it. It was so popular then that I felt I was surely missing something, but decided (like you) that there are too many truly enticing books to stick it out with a less than captivating one. (I felt the same about Water for Elephants or whatever that one was called).

    Bceause I love Julia Roberts acting, I thought I’d give this movie a go but I think now I may just pass or wait for netflix. Love your take on this book- it somehow makes me feel validated:-)
    (And hindu? Seriously? That makes me sad, she seems to have such a joyful spirit, and I wish it was real joy.)

  11. August 23, 2010 6:47 pm

    Amen to the right direction. : )

Leave a Reply

