Skip to content

I Heart My iPad!

August 24, 2010

So I walked into the Apple store and the rest is history. As it usually is. If you haven’t been to your local Apple store, go. Just to play with all the demos they have sitting out, or to sit on one of the cool balls they have by the kids’ table, rather than chairs. Just like some people go to Sam’s for the snacks, go to the Apple store, to play.

We bought an iPad last week, when we were in the Metroplex. Where I live will probably get an Apple store in about 3010… We had less than thirty minutes, so I walked up to someone in a blue shirt and said, ‘please show me what the iPad will do, and he did, and the rest is history.

It is F.U.N.! Just this cute little laptop sort of thing that is about half the size of a laptop, with no lid to break, and umpteen gazillion free ‘apps’ (as they call them) to download.

So far I’ve purchased a version of the Bible ($9.99)so I can use it for devotions when we’re traveling, rather than my heavy one. I’ve downloaded about a dozen free classic books to read, and about four children’s book, beautifully illustrated, to enjoy with grandkids. It’s amazing to me to think my grandkids won’t think the least thing about reading a book on an iPad. It’ll be completely normal to them.

It won’t do everything – you can’t load anything onto it by CD, but you can download just about anything, except P*orn, which Steve Jobs, the head of Apple has managed to set limits on so it’s impossible. Which might make it a very smart buy for some parents who want to protect their kids from such.

I saw in the newspaper today that you can download crossword puzzles, and financial stock market news, for free. I’ve only had it for a few days, so we’re still getting acquainted but I suspect I’ll be falling more and more in love with it in the next few weeks.

For right now, as this is coming up to post, I’m actually somewhere in North Carolina, in a cabin, on Lake Hiwassee with our daughter, son-in-law and 4 year old grandson. We’re planning to fish, swim, make smores, watch movies, play games, snuggle, make breakfast, take picnics, ride horses, and play with our iPad, so I’m set up to read books with Landon, snuggled under his new birthday quilt I’m bringing him, three years late.

Photos of fun to follow, soon as we get back home. And if you’ve recently gotten an iPad, and know of any really wonderful applications to download, especially for free, leave me a comment, letting me know 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 9:02 am

    hey congrats! bev, there is another Bible app called youversion….. it is a FREE app and has a gazillion versions of the Bible. it also has lots of other features too. you would love it. just thought i’d tell you. enjoy that ipad

    melanie (daniel martin’s mom)

    • August 24, 2010 1:03 pm

      P has apps for quotes, the Constitution (really), and “What happened today in history”–we get a kick out of reading those at night! (Not the Constitution; sorry.) You’re a history buff–you might like these!

      Are there any sewing apps????

    • September 5, 2010 7:16 am

      Melanie, thanks so much for taking the time to let me know about the Bible app. and I bet you’re loving that precious new grand baby!

  2. August 25, 2010 1:58 pm

    Your vacation sounds wonderful:-)

    Hmmm, I thought it would seem weird to read from a screen instead of a page, but you are making it sound awfully tempting I think I may need to find an Apple store and check it out.

  3. August 26, 2010 9:32 am

    I’ve been interested in how book lovers like this type of electronic book; if it feels just too different from holding a real book with pages you can feel. Seems like the advantages are worth it. But I’m sure it will never totally replace a “real” book.

    • September 5, 2010 7:17 am

      Chris, NOTHING can replace a real book! I love my iPad but the smell of a bookstore….can’t beat that.

Leave a Reply

