Skip to content

Fried Green Tomatoes

August 30, 2010

We’re barely home after 12 days, and 2400 miles on the road, so I’m surrounded by dirty laundry, unopened mail, spoiled vegetables and a love-starved cat.

The entire 12 days and 2400 miles were fabulous, and I’ve got photos to prove it (which I’ll share presently, as soon as I’ve dealt with the laundry and mail and vegetables.)

To start, though, I wanted to share a completely unexpected delight. We drove to Georgia to spend some time with friends who’ve stuck with us longer than most of our kids. All we had on our agenda was to hang out, catch up, hug, laugh, cry, and talk til our throats hurt. We did all that but were delighted when Tris (my friend-mentor-pseudo mother) asked if we’d like to go to the Whistlestop Cafe.

I assumed it was a cute little cafe named after the one in the movie.

It was the one from the movie which takes place in Alabama, but was filmed in Juliette, Georgia.

So we drove there, sat here,

where we ate these:

and saw where Bennett’s BBQ was made. It’s still on the menu, but we chose not to order that.

We saw the dam, the mill, the train, and the church, and the cemetery.

And I bought a sign that says ‘Kiss My Grits’ and a cute little T-shirt that said I’d eaten hot fried green tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe.

Then we went back to their place and watched the movie, two hours after being there.

I was giddy the entire time I was there.

The first bookstore we passed, I ran in and bought the book. Because the book is always, always, always better than the movie and the movie was wonderful. And the cafe. And our visit to see our dear friends.

They’ve promised us the next time we visit they’ll take us to see Jimmy Carter’s place, and we can crash his Sunday School class. He apparently teaches Sunday School in the sanctuary of his church, and it’s open to the public – how cool is that? Regardless of where you stand on politics that man knows his Bible and it would be a real privilege to sit in on his class. To hear a former President teach from the Bible? Wow!

An ‘off-the-charts-wonderful’ start to our trip. I’ll share the rest with you soon as I get through all those nasty vegetables lurking in the fridge drawers.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 12:23 pm

    Sounds like you had a wonderful vacation! Can’t wait to hear all about it, and am now craving fried green tomatoes! (I can’t believe Jimmy Carter teaches Sunday school- that is truly amazing. )

  2. August 30, 2010 12:31 pm

    Wow! That is a great start to your trip. I would love that. I need to get that book as I have never read it either. On the list it goes.

    And I have another blogger friend who went and heard Jimmy Carter teach his Sunday School lesson. She was thrilled. You’ll love that. I’d love that. Who wouldn’t love that????

    Have fun shoveling out the laundry.

  3. August 30, 2010 12:35 pm

    What an awesome trip! Your friends really know how to make a visit memorable. 🙂

  4. August 30, 2010 4:25 pm

    Long-time reader here, but first-time commenter. My sister doesn’t live that far from Juliette (in Madison), and we go that way every time we visit her. Love me some fried green tomatoes! Plus, when my husband and I got married almost 22 years ago, we traveled up to TN for our honeymoon. We spent the first night in Macon, and since the next day was Sunday–we stopped at Juliette Baptist Church to attend our first worship service as a married couple. Sweet memories of that tiny little spot on the GA map!
    I live in south GA, only about 1.5 hours from Plains, so we go there occasionally. I think you’d enjoy it! :o)
    I love to visit your blog…and Sarah’s…and Leslie’s! I’m always inspired–plus I usually enjoy a nice chuckle or giggle to boot.
    Great post!
    Blessings,
    Amy O in GA/picketfencemom

  5. August 30, 2010 6:22 pm

    That is so cool!! I think I will go get Fried Green Tomatoes and read it.

    I am listening to the audio book “Christmas in Plains” by Jimmy Carter. He reads it and I have really enjoyed listening to it. I will be looking into his other books after I am done:)

    Thanks for sharing your trip.

  6. August 31, 2010 9:47 am

    My husband and I stopped by Juliette when vacationing in GA, in 1993, only about 1 – 2 years after the movie had been filmed. It was deserted, like a ghost town, no stores open, nothing! We walked around for about a half hour, took some pictures, but never saw a single person. Strange. That’s cool that it’s been brought back to life.

Leave a Reply

