Skip to content

Six months and counting

September 2, 2010

Six months ago he walked out the door of his office for the last time. Six months we’ve been hanging out together 24/7 pretty much, and we haven’t killed each other yet. We recently told a friend we were ‘going on vacation’. He asked, since we’re retired, if the use of that word in relation to our lifestyle now, isn’t an oxymoron?

He may have a point there. One way or another, it just keeps getting better, every single day.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 10:30 am

    Gosh what a great picture. You have chosen a beautiful place to spend your retirement years. I am so happy for you.

  2. September 2, 2010 4:00 pm

    Becky, that photo was actually taken on Lake Hiwassee, in NC when we were on vacation last week. We have a beautiful lake to look out on every single day, but those hills in the background? Not so much. We’re in Texas, and not the hilly part.

  3. September 2, 2010 4:56 pm

    I love hearing about this time in your life, because even though retirement isn’t in our near future, as a Mom, I sometimes find myself already dreading the empty nest days. You make them look like very full days, and something to really look forward to:-) So thanks!
    (By the way, I also love this picture, and have to tell you, seriously, you look so young! You really do look more like vacationers than retirees, so that is another great thing I can hope for!)

    • September 2, 2010 5:02 pm

      Gee thanks Kelly! I have a sweet friend back in PA, who was the baby of our pack, and her last kid just left for college this past week. I told her, and others told her, but you can’t know it til you’re there – empty nest IS wonderful, if you’ve done the work to be ready for it. If you keep him as your best friend, make sure you have some interests and goals and dreams you share. We started an actual bucket list, put a little money aside every month, and are looking forward to checking off some things on it, together. I so wish I could remind moms – far and wide – your kids are there for maybe 25 years of your marriage but there are years and years of time when it’s just the two of you, so it’s worth preparing for when the kids leave, and it’s the two of you looking across the breakfast table at each other.

      We’re having a ball finding our way one day at a time. You’ll find a post I’ve got coming out next week (on fighting!) very interesting I think – watch for it! And I’m 55 BTW, haven’t spent a lot of time in the sun because I’m so fair so that helps but if you could see my knee joints you’d know my age is showing itself here and there.

Leave a Reply

