Skip to content

My absolute favorite soup recipe

September 7, 2010

Monday night is football night at our house, so I’ve set in stone the menu of soup, salad and bread for every single Monday from early September til sometime in January.

I’ve got a lot of great soup recipes to draw from; here’s my all-time favorite, maybe because of the soft spot in my heart for the source. Made for me by friends I met in the hills of Virginia.  We only lived there 10 months, but the women from our church loved the daylights out of me during that time. So thank you Sandy and Charlotte. Our entire family now cooks this soup, and every time I do it brings back sweet memories.  My husband never remembers where the recipe came from, but he always eats two bowls full.

Sandy’s (and Charlotte’s) Potato Soup

8 – 10 potatoes, peel, rinse and chop
1 onion, chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
1 – 3 carrots, peel and slice or shred
1/2 stick margarine or butter
salt & pepper to taste
1 can cream of something soup (I use fat free)
1 can evaporated milk (I use fat free)
1 cup grated cheese
bacon, fried, drained & crumbled

In large soup pot place potatoes. Cover with cold water. Add onion, celery & carrot. Heat to boiling, turn down to low and simmer til potatoes are tender when tested with fork. DO NOT DISCARD WATER! Add 1/2 stick margarine, salt & pepper to taste. In separate mixing bowl combine soup and milk. Stir slightly. Heat in microwave for 2 minutes, then stir til smooth. Add to soup pot. Simmer very low for approximately 15 minutes to half hour. Serve in large soup bowls with grated cheese and crumbled bacon scattered across top. I usually serve this with some kind of bread – we’re very comfortable in our carb-loving skins.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 9:20 am

    We love soup in the cooler weather. Once a week for sure. And potato soup is a favorite of ours as well. I had no idea you lived anywhere for only 10 months. Hey, we have more and more in common the longer we know each other. We call our time in Durham “the vacation where we took all our furniture” 🙂

  2. September 7, 2010 11:45 am

    Is it just enough water to cover the potatoes? We live near Lake Tahoe, so I’m definitely using this recipe soon. It’s already getting cool at night. Thanks for sharing!

    • September 7, 2010 11:54 am

      Melissa, my girlfriends just barely covered the potatoes. I tend to put about another inch over them, but don’t fill it to the top – there won’t be room for the soup/milk and it’ll be too watery to taste rich.

  3. September 7, 2010 1:38 pm

    Yum! I think this might even work on a Tuesday night since the girls are recovering from a virus. I’m thinking it is just the prescription for a cozy get well dinner!

    • September 7, 2010 4:13 pm

      Absolutely – it’s mild enough to be the perfect thing to take to a new mommy, someone recovering from illness, etc.

  4. Heather permalink
    September 7, 2010 1:43 pm

    So really I can use cream of anything?

    • September 7, 2010 4:14 pm

      Cream of ANYTHING. If you don’t care for mushrooms, you could use cream of chicken, etc. I usually have half a dozen cans in my cupboard and grab one without even looking to see which it is.

  5. September 7, 2010 5:21 pm

    It sounds pretty much like mine, though I add Velveeta in lieu of cheddar, if I have it on hand. I also do the fat-free soups. I’ve not added evaporated milk to mine, though. I’ll try that next time I make it. I am anxiously awaiting the weather to get a tad cooler for soup.

    • September 7, 2010 11:50 pm

      Renna, another soup I love to make is cheese soup, and I use an entire block of Velveeta in that. Try adding the milk – it should give it a nice, creamy flavour! And with this latest hurricane moving through we barely hit 80 today, so that’s feeling a lot cooler to us!

  6. September 7, 2010 6:39 pm

    I looooove potato soup and am willing to try any version so I’ll be making this in the coming week!

  7. September 7, 2010 10:54 pm

    Loved that potato soup recipe! Will be using it for upcoming football gatherings…

    • September 9, 2010 10:54 pm

      Enjoy – almost everyone likes potato soup!

  8. September 8, 2010 12:19 pm

    You know, the more I thought about this soup after reading your post yesterday, the hungrier I got for it. So much so, that I decided on the spur of the moment to make it for our dinner! I had all the ingredients on hand except for carrots and evaporated milk, two ingredients I do normally keep on hand. I made it with what I had, though, and it was delicious. I’m sitting here eating a bowl of the leftover for lunch today. When storing the leftovers in the fridge last night, I went ahead and stirred the remaining bacon bits into the soup.

    Thanks for mentioning this recipe and solving last night’s dinner dilemma for me! 🙂

  9. September 8, 2010 12:20 pm

    Oh, and by bacon bits, I meant the cooked and crumbled bacon, not store-bought bacon bits. 😉

    • September 8, 2010 11:29 pm

      good for you! hope it was as yummy as ours was. Yours was probably better since we didnt have the bacon bits and everything is better with bacon.

  10. September 8, 2010 6:42 pm

    LOVE this soup! Jer and I are both excited for the cooler temperatures so that we can make a big ‘ol pot of this!! Yum!

Leave a Reply

