Skip to content

Belly laughing

September 8, 2010

We spent a week with our 4 year old grandson, Landon, a few weeks ago. Then we spent the weekend with our other four grandkids (Caiden, Grayson, Miss Addie and JaeBeth) just a few days ago. We noticed something. Except for Baby Jae, who is only 8 months old, they laugh their heads off umpteen times a day. Belly laugh. Laugh til they cry. And even Baby Jae is very quick to break into smiles if you give her just a little bit of your time, up close and personal. This weekend she was busy cutting teeth, so she gets a free pass. Seeing her cry with sweet potatoes smeared all over her face did give the rest of us a giggle though. HOW can you not laugh at that?! (I should have taken her picture, so you could laugh with me, but I just felt too bad for her to take advantage.)

When’s the last time you or I laughed that hard?  Much better way to work those stomach muscles than doing sit ups, don’t you agree?!

Here’s what made us laugh yesterday.
We’re not sure if Miss Kitty is getting a drink or looking for a snack.
Either way, I’m on the lookout to see humor in every day. My stomach muscles could use the workout.

An extra side note: I have a reputation for fattening up every single pet who moves in with us. Miss Kitty was so teensy when we got her, a mere 6 1/2 lbs. After three months she’s increased her body weight by 50%, up to about 9 lbs. Has a nice little pooch on her tummy, so we sort of match. A chubby cat is much nicer in my book, regardless of what that silly vet might say!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 10:51 am

    We are looking for things to laugh about each day, too.
    Hi Bev, I just wanted to tell you that I’ve been reading here for quite a while but not commenting. I used to blog under Kindred Haven, but have changed to Carolina Gal now. New season of life, new blog. :o)
    I love your “fluffy” kitty – we have one of those, too. His name is Jazz, but we call him Mr. Kitten Britches after the children’s book “Skippy John Jones”. I guess I seem to fatten up our pets too, as we have a beagle who’s about as broad as she is tall.

    Enjoying your view of retirement. We hope to be able to do a lot of the things you have done. (We have a big house that we won’t need once we’ve got the last one out of the nest.)

    Have a great week!
    Karen

    • September 8, 2010 11:18 am

      Hello Karen and ‘nice to meet you’! We keep telling ourselves, in the midst of this new season of life, we’ve been overwhelmed, tired, frustrated, but also blessed and blessed again, and we have not been bored one single minute. Every day is another adventure. We downsized 1000 sq feet so the only challenge was downsizing the ‘stuff’. And BTW – LOVE the cat’s name – Mr. Kitten Britches – what’s not to love about that?!

  2. Kristina permalink
    September 8, 2010 12:41 pm

    We say the same thing about our dogs. When we rescued our chocolate lab, he was so skinny from being stray for so long… now when we take him to the vet, we get in trouble because he’s so tubby!! But I agree with you and say that a chubby, happy dog is better than a skinny, malnourished one!

    • September 8, 2010 11:30 pm

      Bless your heart for rescuing some. Don wont even let me go to the humane society so that I dont bring them home. Every time we see a stray on the street I worry over them. I read a quote somewhere, “God help me to be the person my dog thinks I am.” – good stuff!

  3. September 9, 2010 9:59 am

    LOL. Pets around here tend to be a little roly poly too. My husband is infamous for sneaking them stuff from the table and then he wonders why they all gather around his chair as soon as he sits down. LOL.

    Sad how we use our ability to laugh so often during the day, isn’t it? Kids could definitely teach us a thing or two in that area.

Leave a Reply

