Skip to content

Loving me some Beth Moore

September 10, 2010

‘So Long Insecurity’ is my first Beth Moore read, and boy has it been a good one. I’ve read mixed reviews of it – some rave, and some complain. I just finished it this week, and I’ll be joining the ‘rave’ camp. I don’t have any of her previous books to compare it to, but the material was fabulous, or at least hit home with me.

One of my kids told me, when they saw the cover, that they didn’t consider me to be terribly insecure. I told them, “I’m not but everybody has some areas that are a little shaky.’ An unexpected benefit I got from this book was gaining insight into others – being able to see them in a new light, and maybe one that extends a bit more grace. After almost thirty years of marriage, this book had some great stuff on how men tend to struggle with this too. Hopefully my reading this will bless my husband, son, son-in-laws….

I’d have a tough time choosing a favorite quote from the book, but here are just a few gems:

“We don’t have to love something for it to become a god to us. All we have to do is devote our most valuable mental attentions to it. In it’s most basic essence, worship is simple focus.”

“Our greatest challenge as women is to avoid trying to control someone toward what we’re genuinely convinced is a better life.”

“We pry because we are insecure. We must cease asking questions we can’t handle the answers to.”

“Another telltale sign that a woman is feeling insecure is incessant talking.”

If I had to choose a favorite it might be this:  “One of the most common human claims is that we can’t change the way we feel. That may be true, but we CAN change the way we THINK, which will change the way we ACT. And as we change the way we act, the way we feel also begins to change.”

Buy it, read it. No, buy two, read it and give the other one away to some female you care about. We can all glean something from this one!

P.S. I took the cover of her book to my hairdresser – is there anyone out there who doesn’t want ‘Beth Moore’ hair?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 6:33 am

    I started reading it last spring, got distracted and haven’t picked it back up. (even though I really was enjoying it.) Sounds like it might be good to dust if off for fall!

    • September 10, 2010 8:23 am

      I picked up “Get Out of the Pit’ in the middle of reading of this one, I was so impressed with what I was getting out of it. Now I’m doing her Revelation Study, so I’m really soaking in some Beth Moore this fall – hope you enjoy getting back to it – she is fabulously gifted to teach.

  2. September 10, 2010 7:44 am

    Just took my Butler to work. Sporting my sweet “Trusty” coffee to-go cup. It’s cool here. Very cool.

    I love that first quote … worship being simply focus. That puts it on a level that I can really understand. Thanks to you (and Beth) for something to chew on today.

    I’ve got a car today … I’m going to figure out what to do with it 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend.

    • September 10, 2010 8:22 am

      I call it ‘scooterpoopin’ actually my mother coined the phrase. When she’d get in the car to go somewhere, with no destination (but to not be with 6 kids, likely!) I’d ask where she was going and that’s the answer she’d give me. Makes my grandkids giggle every time I tell them that – enjoy some rambling today! xoxoxo

  3. September 10, 2010 5:56 pm

    I am totally a Beth Moore “fan” too……. but have not read this book. Thanks for the review and now I have another “must read” for my pile. In our couples group before we moved we had the guys doing Beth Moore’s Daniel Study with us and it just knocked their sox off that she was such an awesome teacher!!! We need to meet at a Beth Moore Conf sometime!?!

    • September 10, 2010 11:13 pm

      that would be fabulous – we should check to see where she will be this upcoming year!

  4. October 4, 2010 11:38 pm

    I’ve never read a Beth Moore book, though I love to watch her on tv and hear her teach (don’t you love her southern accent?). I’m adding this book to my wish list, as, at the age of 54, I have far too many insecurities hanging on, which makes me think it’s no accident I read your review on this book. God’s opened a new area of ministry for me recently, in which I feel so very insecure. I keep reminding myself, it’s Him in me, not me doing the job, but I think I can use some extra help.

Leave a Reply

