Skip to content

This Weekend I….

September 12, 2010

Keys to the Cottagebooked a plane ticket for my mom to spend a week at Thanksgiving with us!

power washed the boat house ceiling to kill 1,000,000 spiders and wasps and such.

got stung by a wasp that did not care for my power-washing efforts.

ran into someone who recognized me in Walmart – first time since our move 5 months ago.

realized the satellite on our TV was not working, called Dish, and they fixed it in time for the first NFL weekend of the season (husband owes me big time for this one!)

bought fabric for two quilts, both to be done by Christmas. I’m an optomist, obviously.

helped Don get the boat into the slip, so it’s ready for fishing trips, or book reading trips, depending on who you ask.

drove the boat – a ‘first time in my life’ experience – a little bit scary!

told Don I’d like to volunteer to be the neighborhood welcome person this upcoming year. I’m thinking a loaf of bread, a jar of homemade jam, and the newest neighborhood directory, all in a cute little bag that’s been stamped, ‘welcome to the neighborhood!’

found out my previous hairdresser was unreliable because of a drug problem. Sad considering she has a two year old.

was invited to lunch, after church, by our SS teacher and his wife. She scrapbooks and I’ve been praying for a scrapbook friend.

cleaned out my CD’s and put fresh ones in the car

listened to Roberta Flack sing, ‘The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face’, and thought about falling in love with my husband. Decided it should be our theme song, and we should dance to it once a year, on our anniversary if possible. Definitely this next one, since it’ll be thirty years.

For more ‘this weekends’ go to Becky’s place, Keys to the Cottage.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 7:24 pm

    I love your neighborhood welcome idea – I hope you do it!
    And yes, Christmas is just around the corner – I have a quilt in mind too. Of course I had it in mind last year and the year before that. My problem is getting it out of my mind and on to my sewing machine!

    • September 13, 2010 12:41 pm

      When we moved in we were hand-delivered a refrigerator pie, and an invitation to call if we wanted to play cards. I would have loved to have a current directory, so we could put names and faces with addresses. I think this will be a good fit for me!

  2. September 12, 2010 8:03 pm

    What a great weekend. I agree .. you’d be the perfect welcome person. Come to my place … I’M NEW!!

    I’ve never driven a boat. And a scrapbook friend is perfect. Scrap together and visit and the hours will just fall away.

    Great weekend. And being recognized in Walmart … perfect! I love it!!

    • September 13, 2010 12:41 pm

      Becky, I’m sure you can relate to how anonymous you feel after a move. You never see a familiar face, no matter where you go, and when you do it feels like you’re settling in a bit.

  3. Kathy permalink
    September 12, 2010 10:14 pm

    Two quilts – done by Christmas? You ARE ambitious! Be sure to share pictures of the finished quilts!

  4. September 13, 2010 6:05 am

    Interesting read. I just sent you an e-mail. Please watch for it, you won’t recognize the address and I’d like to not end up in your spam box :o)

  5. September 13, 2010 8:33 am

    Good luck on the quilts! I just finished piecing a top made of William Morris inspired fabrics. Needless to say, I started it MANY months ago. Now it’s out to the mother-in-laws to quilt it, and then bind it and voila!

  6. September 13, 2010 9:12 am

    Excellent idea re the neighbourhood welcome pack, Bev. Brilliant! And your weekend sounds great, especially the bit re your Mum coming to visit! I will be waiting to see the quilts – have you met up with any other quilters yet?

  7. September 13, 2010 10:18 am

    How wonderful for you….AND your mom! I love your new header, too.

    • September 13, 2010 12:42 pm

      thank you Karen, a shot taken from my kitchen table. That table topper was my first quilting project 🙂 And I cannot, cannot wait to have my mom here at the lake with us. Maybe I’ll let her drive the golf cart….

  8. September 13, 2010 10:29 am

    What a wonderful Thanksgiving treat! Sounds like a great weekend except for the wasp sting, and the news about your hairdresser. Isn’t that so sad? It makes your realize how blessed your life is when you are touched by someone struggling so, doesn’t it?

    Love the welcome bag idea, and I agree, you would be the perfect person for that duty!

    • September 13, 2010 12:43 pm

      I knew something was different about her but could not put my finger on it. We kept having issues with her forgetting appts or getting the time wrong, or some ‘family emergency’, over and over. When I found out what the real issue was it all made sense. Makes me very sad for her and her family, esp that little girl who deserves so much more.

  9. September 14, 2010 12:44 pm

    It seems you are “finding your place” and beginning to feel at home–I’m so happy for you! Mark, in his experience with moving all his life, says he thinks it takes a good two years before feeling completely at home in a new place. I hope you are ahead of that curve! :o) Love and blessings, Karen

    • September 14, 2010 1:46 pm

      Karen, I knew it would take a good six months for the house to feel like ‘home’ at all. Something about fall and football in the background, baking, building a fire, etc. and sure enough we’re just about six months into it here. We also decided September would be ‘begin to make friends’ month, and sure enough our calendar has a few get-togethers on it. Most things that are worth waiting for just take a bit of time, don’t they?

Leave a Reply

