Skip to content

A little help please?!

September 15, 2010

Updated: Well, the strong vote is for Google Reader and when Katrina told me I can use my iPad and do something really cool with it – that sealed it for me! Thanks, everybody for the great tips. Bloglines hasn’t updated my profile photo for over a year; that in itself should have told me there was something better out there!

For the past 4 1/2 years I’ve used Bloglines to subscribe to blogs, and to read them. I noticed a few days ago that the end of September, Bloglines will be no more. Any suggestions? How do you access the blogs you read? I have about 100 (she said, and the people gasped!). I’ve got old friends, new friends, family, cooking, knitting, quilting, etc. And it looks to me like the reader WordPress provides isn’t that great – you can’t organize them at all, and I’m an organizing kind of girl. So a little help please?

What do you use to follow blogs, can you group them, and can you easily access them?

28 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 9:23 am

    I use Google Reader Bev, and it seems to work really well (and you can organize too!)

  2. Jean permalink
    September 15, 2010 9:24 am

    I just switched to google reader yesterday, after seeing the same notice from bloglines, doing a google search for rrl readers and having google suggest…. google. πŸ™‚ I followed the suggestions on bloglines on how to export my list, and easily imported it into google reader. So far so good.

    • September 15, 2010 10:05 am

      thanks Jean – maybe that will do the trick. I loved Bloglines, so sad that they’re going away.

  3. Trina permalink
    September 15, 2010 9:25 am

    Try Google reader (www.google.com/reader). Reader allows you to organize subscriptions into folders that you define – lots of flexibility.

  4. September 15, 2010 9:26 am

    I use the Favorites and it automatically pulls up the posts when ever anyone on my list posts. It seems to work fine for me.

    • September 15, 2010 10:05 am

      Susan, I didn’t even think to just bookmark the sites and put them in my favorites, in a folder – that could work too!

  5. September 15, 2010 10:19 am

    I use Google Reader, too. I’ve been happy with it, since I switched from BlogLines last year. Let us know what you decide.

    • September 15, 2010 10:31 am

      thanks Leah – appreciate the help!

  6. September 15, 2010 10:58 am

    I have used Google Reader since I started blogging years ago. I have 4 folders … “Crafty Gals” … “Business” … “Friends” … and “Temporary”(for blogs that I need to watch for a short period of time because I have entered a giveaway)

    The “Friends” folder has not changed for a long, long time. But the “Crafty Gals” changes as my tastes change, or their tastes change. And “Business” is for coupons, rebates, announcements for saving money, etc.

    It is an easy way to organize it and works for me.

    • September 15, 2010 11:41 am

      Seems like a consensus of opinion – google is the way to go, so I’ll check it out and let you know how it works for me.

  7. Lindsey permalink
    September 15, 2010 10:58 am

    google reader!

  8. September 15, 2010 11:16 am

    Google reader – works great. I never used Bloglines so I don’t know if there was a search feature, but I love using it on google reader. I have never been able to figure out the setting up the folders. Becky if you see this could you please explain to me about the feature. I know to go into the manage subscriptions and how to get the blogs into a folder, but it didn’t seem to work for me where they are added to each folder when updated. Does that make sense? I would love to be able to separate the blogs into catagories. Sorry Bev for hijacking your comments. Ha!

    • September 15, 2010 11:23 pm

      Karen, absolutely okay, and I’ll email Becky, to ask her to come read your comment and see if she can answer you.

  9. September 15, 2010 11:38 am

    I’m with the Google reader subscribers. Left Bloglines about 4 years ago and never looked back. I love Google anything!

  10. September 15, 2010 1:17 pm

    I, too, use Google Reader. I love it, and the export/import thing works well.

    An added benefit is that you can get an awesome iPad app (called Reeder) that uses your Google Reader account and will actually back everything up when you open it so you can read your feeds on the go, even without internet access.

    • September 15, 2010 11:24 pm

      SERIOUSLY????!!!! Okay, that absolutely thrills me because I’m still madly in love with my iPad. I have to try it!

  11. September 15, 2010 2:17 pm

    Ah, I’m just not techy, so I stick them in my Favorites. Works for me!

  12. September 15, 2010 3:10 pm

    THANK GOD, I am not the only one with a long bloglist! Thanks for being real, Bev. Sometimes I feel like you and your family are long lost cousins or something! Anyway, I have used Google reader for over a year and love it. Happy Fall!

    • September 15, 2010 11:25 pm

      Robin, I’d be quite happy to trade you for some of my real cousins! πŸ™‚ Your comment made me LOL

  13. September 15, 2010 6:55 pm

    Google for me too! I left Bloglines quite a while ago when it started doing strange things to my feeds – have to say I haven’t had any problems with Google, and you can organize it to your heart’s content. Not sayin’ how many blogs on my list πŸ˜‰

    • September 15, 2010 11:25 pm

      Good for you Joy – being a teensy bit mysterious. I dream about that but can’t ever pull it off!

  14. Bethany permalink
    September 15, 2010 9:29 pm

    Google Reader for me too!

  15. September 16, 2010 9:26 am

    google reader!

    • September 16, 2010 10:19 am

      Spoken like a true Martin! Do you love techy as much as that son of yours?!

  16. September 16, 2010 8:39 pm

    I was in a total panic when I saw Bloglines was shutting down. But I switched to Google Reader and really like it. Though, as par for the course for my life, I couldn’t find the import button for all the feeds. That is, not until AFTER I had copied and pasted every single one of 66 feeds into google one. at. a. time. Sigh. Nothing techy ever comes easy to me. LOL.

    • September 16, 2010 10:36 pm

      Susanne, I’ve tried to export and that didn’t work, but some day soon I’ll make a cup of tea, clear my brain, and sit down and really try to figure it out. I keep telling myself it’s good to blow out the dust between my ears now and then and techy stuff sure does that!

  17. September 23, 2010 4:16 pm

    I just found out bloglines is shutting down and almost had a heart attack. I hope I can figure this google reader thing out!

    • September 23, 2010 7:13 pm

      Two weeks left before the close it – I switched to Google reader and am still trying to get used to it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

