Skip to content

First kill!

September 17, 2010

We have an area of the backyard, just off the deck, that we lovingly call the ‘snake pit’. Covered with some ivy type of ground cover, and weeds galore, like the back streets of a big city, it’s begging for evil to lurk there. Yesterday was ‘D-Day’, when we’d agreed to finally tackle it. We’ve cooled off to the low 90’s so it’s time. I headed to what I call the quarry, telling Don I felt like one of the seven dwarfs, where I began throwing river rocks into the trailer. Those will be hauled down to the lake and thrown in, to help our seawall hold up to the storms we’re told will come this fall. Don started pulling ivy like nobody’s business.

Within an hour he called, ‘a snake!’ Fascinated, I ran over, but it was just a teensy, non-poisonous one. We have decided to follow the merciless rule, none live! So he grabbed the hoe and began chopping. I picked the head up with the shovel, to study what the eyes look like.

Back to my part, rock picking. Within ten minutes he called out again, ‘another one!’ I ran back over and was somehow strangely pleased when he pronounced it a water moccasin, or cottonmouth.

Then this woman I do not know called out, ‘I’ll kill it. She grabbed the shovel and began chopping, following it across the dirt, giving it several whacks till it was dead, the head in one place and the body in several others. That woman scooped the body up in the shovel, to photograph, to show her blogger friends her first kill.

Back with the camera minutes later, it was gone. Slithered away. I have to assume it was looking for its head, which I can totally relate to. I’ve had days like that too.

One step closer to becoming a true ‘yee-haw girl’ rather than the sissy she’s been for more than half a century…

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Kalamazoo Sue permalink
    September 17, 2010 7:54 am

    When I saw the title–I assumed the victum was a snake. You go, girl. Can’t say that I’m sorry about the missed photo op.

  2. September 17, 2010 8:32 am

    Ha! You made me laugh out loud when you said you could relate to him looking for his head. You crack me up.

    And surprise me! I would not even walk close enough to a cotton mouth to see what color is was. Man, you’re a better woman than I am.

  3. September 17, 2010 9:21 am

    LOL. You crack me up. And have me in awe at your non-sissiness! :vD

  4. Jackie permalink
    September 17, 2010 10:40 am

    Oh my goodness I just saw my first real snake, black and probably 5 feet long, well actually closer to 3 but, I was scared and creeped out beyond belief. I was riding my bike with my grandbaby in back. I was positive we would be eaten alive. Can someone say drama queen. Anyway, I hate snakes. By the way I live in northern Virginia, point being snakes not so commonplace in the burbs. You are a very brave woman indeed.

    • September 18, 2010 9:41 am

      Jackie, mine was about a foot long, and skinny. Not sure I’m ready to whack one that’s five feet long. I would have been raising my feet up to the handle bars if I’d seen what you did.

  5. September 17, 2010 11:09 am

    I think we should all sit at the gates and call you “blessed” and we should throw in “brave” to for good measure.

    And do you mean to say that a snake in several pieces slithered away? I can’t quite wrap my head around that!

    You impress me. I think.

    • September 18, 2010 9:41 am

      Robin, seriously! I’ve heard of chickens getting their heads cut off and they run around for a bit (creepy!), but this snake was in several pieces and it really did crawl off the shovel. Its head was a good ten feet away. Very strange…..

  6. September 17, 2010 2:12 pm

    I must say it smacks of “fish tale” to me. You know – “the one that got away”??? HeeHee!

  7. September 17, 2010 2:32 pm

    Unh-uh! No way would I get that close to one! I’ve got several of my own snake encounters to last me a lifetime!! You’re a brave woman.

  8. September 17, 2010 5:45 pm

    well if it were me i would have screamed like a girl and run away! you are one brave woman. small or big, it doesn’t matter…..scary things!

    • September 18, 2010 9:43 am

      Melanie – I’ve got a reputation for shrieking when I see anything that slithers, or flies. Can’t stand anything that flies around me. I don’t know what got into me. I kept thinking, what if we let it live and it comes out when our grandkids are here – Tawonda took over!

  9. September 17, 2010 6:33 pm

    No snake killing for me!! I hate them and I’d run :o)

  10. September 17, 2010 7:12 pm

    I’ve been waiting on a post about snakes. You had said too many times you hadn’t seen any, but were expecting it. I am terrified of them!

    • September 18, 2010 9:43 am

      Deidre – Aren’t we humans a complex bunch? I’m honestly much more afraid of a grasshopper or roach, neither of which could hurt me at all. Just can’t stand things that hop and fly. With snakes at least you know which direction they’re going, relatively speaking.

  11. September 18, 2010 1:48 pm

    LOL! Great post! : )
    The head comment was too funny!!!

  12. September 18, 2010 8:44 pm

    OK, the fact that you didn’t run the other way when your husband said he saw a snake proves your bravery to me… and when its chopped up body slithered, good grief I would have lost my mind! Just thinking about it gives me the heeby jeebies!

Leave a Reply

