Skip to content

Quilting on my mind

September 21, 2010

Update: go here for Betsy McCall paperdolls – they can be printed out on cardstock for little girls to enjoy!)

Two quilts – and how many weeks til Christmas?

The first one, a family tradition I’ve started – for grandbaby’s first birthday (not that I’ve ever delivered on time, but that’s the goal.) JaeBeth will celebrate her first birthday on Christmas day, and I fell in love with the paperdoll Christmas fabric. It reminded me of those paperdolls I used to cut out of my mother’s magazine (which one was it?)* (see update at top). The shop owner included the pattern with the fabric purchase, and helped me choose fabrics – not my favorite thing to do. I prefer the piecing part. (A bit like choosing cereal – why so many choices, just pour me a bowl!)

I’m using these fabrics, (see the paperdoll peeking out at the bottom of the pile?)

and this pattern, from the fabric store. I love any quilting pattern with stars in it.

The photograph is sideways. I’m better at sewing than photography, thank goodness!

The second one, a new tradition Sarah started – we choose a pattern together, choose our own fabrics, and work on them at the same time. I chose fabric from ‘Walden Pond’ collection and cannot wait to finish it. We agreed to stick with a 3 x 3 quilt, since each block is 14 1/2″. I’m hoping to use mine as a winter table topper.

I’m using these beautiful fabrics, (sooooo excited!)

with this pattern (I also love, love pinwheels):

Now to find make the time. After all, I’ve got how many weeks?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 6:09 am

    I’ve had a pieced quilt top for Fall, just waiting on me to get around to hand quilting it for about a year now! It’s still in the 90’s here, and I just can’t make myself get started on it again.
    You’ve inspired me to pull it back out. Your material looks so pretty, and I can’t wait to see the finished products!
    Happy sewing, Bev.

  2. Kathy permalink
    September 21, 2010 7:00 am

    Oooh, I especially like that Paperdoll pattern (and the fabrics, too!). Picking out fabrics is one of my least favorite parts of quilting — so I struck pay dirt when I found a pattern that I love that was already kitted up (with the fabric cut into the 2 1/2″ strips already, too!!!!).

    Do you hand quilt, Bev?

    • September 21, 2010 7:46 am

      Kathy, I fought learning to quilt, actually took window treatments to my first time with the sewing group I met with in PA. They all quilted and I got pulled in. None of them hand quilted, so I learned as they showed me, which included machine piecing and quilting. None of them did paper piecing so I’ve never tried that either. it’s been awhile since I cut out a quilt, but something about fall’s arrival makes it sound nice.

  3. September 21, 2010 8:34 am

    Your choices are just gorgeous. I can’t wait to see the finished products. I love to quilt!!

  4. September 21, 2010 10:02 am

    Love the tradition of a quilt for the first birthday, such a great keepsake!

    Maybe the quilting will make it feel more fall like, since I doubt you are having your (prior to this year) typical fall weather there in Texas!

    • September 21, 2010 11:04 am

      Kelly, that’s absolutely true. We knew we’d be leaving those magnificent leaf-turning displays behind us, but Texas has its own version of fall. I enjoyed morning coffee to the sound of acorns hitting the roof, and squirrels scrambling to scoop them up. Sarah tells me fall will arrive sometime in early November!

  5. September 21, 2010 10:37 am

    Your projects look so fun! I have quit fabric “intentions”…… from years ago I need to do. You are an inspiration, but this retirement is so busy it is hard to stay focused!!!

    • September 21, 2010 11:05 am

      Karen, I’m told the first year or so of retirement is just finding your groove (makes me feel a bit like Stella!), schedules are still murky here, and some days the ‘to do list’ gets written as it happens rather than the other way around. But that’s half the fun of it, figuring it out as we go along, don’t you think?

  6. September 21, 2010 11:41 am

    I’ve never done quilting but it looks like it would be fun. Something new to try someday.

    And the magazine had to be McCalls – the doll was Betsy.

    • September 21, 2010 11:53 am

      Oh thank you, Lynne! I knew someone would remember, and her name WAS Betsy and it was McCalls. I spent so many hours of fun cutting her and her outfits out. Sweet memories that are now more complete thanks to you!

  7. September 22, 2010 4:38 pm

    Oh, I so want to learn how to quilt! I have a pattern for a small Christmas table runner, with fabric bought last year. Maybe I’ll actually get to it this year! Have fun with yours! You have some beautiful fabric picked out.

Leave a Reply

