Skip to content

Much delayed happy dance

September 23, 2010

I cut these window treatments out a good two months ago. Sewed them up, they turned out nice, but didn’t look right on the windows. I’d gone with London blinds and they were too poofy.

Oh such fun, to rip out every single seam, all the velcro, the little plastic eyes on the back, recut and resew. I should have gone with Roman shades to begin with. Isn’t hindsight wonderful?

One down, three to go. Getting started again was the hardest part. I’m thinking that applies to many things in life. They’re not perfect, but they’re up there. I’m doing the happy dance because now I can move on to those quilts I really want to be sewing.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 6:32 am

    They’re lovely! I just love Roman shades … and am curious now why I don’t have any in this house?

    • September 23, 2010 9:24 am

      Kathy, in spite of sewing for a good 45 years, I’d never attempted them. My daughter, who I taught to sew, coached me on them, and they’re easy – take very little fabric – and my husband likes the nice, flat look them compared to the more ruffly style.

  2. September 23, 2010 7:17 am

    They look very nice there! I’m looking for something for my window over my kitchen sink. I like the light coming in until about 4:30, and then it’s blinding. Your idea is something that would work for me, too. Thanks for sharing it!

    • September 23, 2010 9:25 am

      Karen, we have fierce sun that comes in every afternoon too, so we thought these would be a good solution. They’re so easy to raise and lower, and not too fussy a look for a kitchen. This house is 15 years old and has never had a curtain in it!

  3. September 23, 2010 10:56 am

    Looks great! You’re right, getting started again absolutely is the hardest part, but you always feel such a sense of accomplishment when you’re diligent. This is one of those life lessons that I am s-l-o-w to learn!

    • September 23, 2010 11:41 am

      Oh me too Kelly, take for instance balancing the checkbook….

  4. September 23, 2010 8:22 pm

    I love all the personal touches you’re adding to your beautiful home. The quilt fabrics you picked out are wonderful! You’ll get in the Christmas spirit really early as you work on them, and they’ll be treasured by your family.

  5. September 23, 2010 11:15 pm

    Lovely! Perfect, pretty and practical. Precisely what you needed.

Leave a Reply

