Skip to content

“like little chicks”….

September 24, 2010

“friends are like little chicks – when they are new they need to be in the incubator and coddled over with lots of time and attention or they’ll never grow. After they get a bit older they can survive in less than perfect conditions.”. (quote from After the Boxes are Unpacked).

Feeling thankful for ‘little chick’ friendships with Peggy, Georgene, Donna, Zora, and the other women meeting for breakfast at Denny’s every Saturday morning. Feeling blessed by how faithful God is to answer our heartfelt prayers, meet our every need.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 8:06 am

    You are SO blessed! I’m in a season where there are no little chicks in my life. 😦

    • September 24, 2010 8:43 am

      Oh Kathy, I highly recommend the book I mentioned, “After the Boxes are Unpacked” by Susan Miller. One thing that struck me, over and over, was that I have to make the effort, put myself out there, be friendly – and no matter how outgoing a person is, that isn’t usually very comfortable or easy. We started attending a church, then started going to Sunday School and Wednesday night dinner and Bible study, so that we had a lot of exposure to the people there. Maybe, maybe there’s an opportunity out there for you for some exposure, whether it’s in your neighborhood or church? I’ll pray toward that!

  2. September 24, 2010 12:42 pm

    That is a great quote. And I am happy for you. All you gals will be grown hens in no time I’m sure. And what fun you’ll have cackling together. Dennys every Sat morning! I’d love that.

  3. September 24, 2010 1:17 pm

    Yes, like Becky, I’d love that, too. Right now there are very few chicks in my circle. All the ones I’ve known for years are pulled in various directions in life. Like me! So even though it’s a bit lean around these parts right now, I know that will change as I enter into a new phase of life.
    Great advice for getting out there and leaving our comfort zones!

  4. scrappygolden permalink
    September 24, 2010 2:50 pm

    What a great quote – and I love what Becky added about soon being grown hens and cackling together. 🙂

  5. September 27, 2010 1:12 pm

    So happy for you Mama! And so happy that you’re one of my best and dearest “chickens”. That sounds funny, but you know what I mean! 🙂

Leave a Reply

