Skip to content

Falling into Reading a bit late

September 27, 2010

Every year, about this time, I resolve not to buy another single book for the rest of the year. So that’s where I’m at. Katrina at Callipidder Days has been hosting ‘Falling into Reading’ for more years than I can recall, but it’s always a good time for me to get my reading act together, come up with a plan.

So here it is – books off my shelves, rather than from Amazon or Barnes and Noble, or the local public library:

  1. Tall Grass by Sandra Dallas
  2. New Mercies by Sandra Dallas
  3. Eat the Cookies, Buy the Shoes, by Joyce Meier
  4. Get Out of the Pit, by Beth Moore
  5. Same Kind of Different as Me, by Ron Hall & Denver Moore
  6. Fried Green Tomatoes, by Fannie Flagg
  7. Her Mother’s Hope, by Francine Rivers
  8. Embracing Your Second Calling, by Dale Hanson Bourke

that’s a lot of books to get read in three months, and considering those months hold two big holidays, a good amount of traveling, family and friends visiting us at the lake, it’s probably plenty plus some.

I’m already excited about starting a new pile / list of great reads for 2011. Top of the list will be Texas by James Michener. I’ve never read a single book by him I didn’t fall completely in love with. If I have to put a book or two from this list back on the pile for 2011, that’s okay. I’ll get more reading done with a big goal than if I don’t aim at anything. I’m thinking 30 minutes every night in a hot, soaking tub…

For more Fall into Reading go to Katrina’s place.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 11:46 pm

    I “discovered” Sandra Dallas at the beginning of this year and I love her stories. Tall Grass is really good. I’m putting New Mercies on my next list.

    Her Mother’s Hope I really liked too. And I’m reading my very first Fannie Flagg book this challenge.

    • September 28, 2010 7:53 am

      susanne, Sarah told me about her. I just finished Alices Tulips, our library only has a few but Im hoping to borrow from Sarah too.

  2. Kristina permalink
    September 28, 2010 12:30 am

    Oh! Sarah insisted that I read “Same Kind of Different as Me.” You will LOVE it. It’s an incredible story!

    • September 28, 2010 7:54 am

      she’s the one who told me about it too. I started it awhile back and need to start all over with it. I’ve heard nothing but good about it.

  3. September 28, 2010 5:22 am

    I love reading. Being raised as an only child my books were my friends and I still consider them such. Some I have read many times over. You can see my list of books read this year on my side bar. Good wishes with your goal.

    • September 28, 2010 7:55 am

      susan , that’s a pretty good friend when you get right down to it. I’ve wondered before if I was on a desert island, after the Bible, what I would take?

  4. September 28, 2010 6:03 am

    I always enjoy seeing what you’re reading. I have the Joyce Meyer book on my stack now too. I always enjoy Francine Rivers. I’ll have to check out some of the others I’m unfamiliar with. And James Michener – I haven’t read a JM book in years but used to love those sagas. Brings back good memories (of borrowing my gram’s JM books).

    Happy Reading!

    • September 28, 2010 7:57 am

      James Michener fascinates me. I describe his writing as ‘starting with the dirt, then the animals’ and I always, always get an education reading him. the Dale Hanson Bourke book looks really wonderful.

  5. September 28, 2010 7:42 am

    Do you have a favorite Michener? I just read Tales of the South Pacific a couple of months ago. I absolutely loved parts of the book, while other bits bored me to tears. I’m a little up in the air about trying another….do you have one that you would recommend?

    • September 28, 2010 7:59 am

      Val, I’ve read maybe six of his. My favorite was Chesapeake, absolutely fascinating book and you get so involved with the characters. I lived in the Midwest when I read it. highly recommend it!

  6. September 28, 2010 9:13 am

    I have not done this in ages … make a list that is. I’ve been reading all along, and even writing them down, but I forget to plan ahead to play this game. I’ve read a few of those books on your list. Good ones.

    • September 28, 2010 10:00 am

      Becky, I not only made a list, I stacked them, in readable order, on my nightstand. This is be a good accountability towards getting some reading done this fall!

  7. September 29, 2010 8:27 am

    Thanks for the reminder – I signed up with my measley five books last night! I have a few more in mind if I make this goal.

    Dale Hansen Bourke is a favorite of mine. Her first two books encouraged me so much as a young mom. This third one has encouraged me as an older mom. I love her insights.

    Francine Rivers, well what can I say. Her Mother’s Hope is on my list too.

    Same Kind of Different is one I’ve been looking at – I need to get my hands on it.

    I have both those Sandra Dallas books on my “want list” over at Amazon.

    So many books – so little time!

    • September 29, 2010 9:37 am

      Robin, isn’t that the truth – some days I wish I could just go hide, and spend the day curled up with books. I, too, read Dale Hansen Bourke, when she wrote a column for Virtue magazine. How sad I was when they stopped publishing it. I had her first book and gave it to my oldest daughter when she started having children. She’s absolutely wonderful, isn’t she?

  8. September 29, 2010 9:41 am

    I always LOVE some good book recommendations. Thanks!

  9. October 3, 2010 8:47 pm

    Looks good, Bev! It feels so good to clear off the shelves a bit, doesn’t it? And 30 minutes of reading in the tub sounds absolutely perfect to me! I might have to incorporate that approach. 🙂

Leave a Reply

