Skip to content

Pie Pumpkins!

September 29, 2010

Did anyone else know there were no pumpkins last year. It seems 95% of the pumpkins are grown in Illinois, they had a great crop but then it rained and the tractors couldn’t get into the fields to harvest them. So they rotted. Instead of going to the Libby’s plant where they’d be turned into filling and put into cans. So there was/is no pumpkin in the store.

It amazed me to realize how much I’ve grown accustomed to having everything made easy for me. My grandmothers didn’t use Libby’s canned pumpkin for pies. They grew them, picked them, and baked pies from them, but that didn’t occur to me. Sort of like grabbing Bisquik instead of making biscuits the old-fashioned way.

When there was no pumpkin to be had at Walmart, or Brookshires, or Target I gave up. I bought these:Two little pie pumpkins.

I swear I never, ever noticed they are actually called ‘pie pumpkins’. I just thought they were little so you could use them as table decoration – how pitiful is that?

I came home and went to this website: http://www.pickyourown.org and there were all the directions I needed. It was sooooo easy! Chop them in half:

remove the seeds and slimy stuff, then chop them up into pieces small enough to fit into a microwavable dish. Add 2″ of water, zap them for 15-30 minutes (mine took 30),

scoop them out of the shell,ย mash them with a mixerand there you have it! Two pumpkins at 2 for $2.00; I cooked one and had enough for two pies. I took this one to the Newcomer’s potluck tonight, and it’s my very first really, real homemade pumpkin pie, since I made the crust from scratch too. Brought home two slices, just enough for Sunday evening TV snack.

I’ve heard there will be no shortage this year so we should see Libby’s on the shelf soon.

I kept the second little pumpkin to decorate some corner of the house ๐Ÿ™‚

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 6:48 am

    Yum! I love pumpkin pies. I actually saw canned pumpkin at the grocery store yesterday and thought I remembered someone saying it would be hard to find. I didn’t buy any, but now you have me thinking I need to run in there today and get them.

    • September 29, 2010 7:30 am

      Deidre, RUN! We still don’t have them. My friend in Chicago area saw them so maybe the Midwest will get them sooner. I plan to stock up when they finally hit Texas!

  2. September 29, 2010 7:29 am

    I’m not a fan of pumpkin pie – love pumpkin bread and cookies, just not pie. But tell me, did it taste better made that way? I’ve always wondered.

    I did know there weren’t any cans to be found last year, but didn’t know the exact reason. I had some on hand, so it didn’t affect me, but I know a lady who hunted every store, as you mentioned in your post. Interesting!

    • September 29, 2010 7:32 am

      Dawn, my hubby said it did, but he might have just been being nice since he was with me for every single search. Maybe he was tired of looking. It did have wonderful flavor.

  3. September 29, 2010 8:54 am

    This finally all makes sense to me. Why you could not find pumpkin anywhere around … Libby’s plant is in Morton, IL. In fact, years ago when we lived in central IL we went to the Morton Pumpkin Festival every. single. year. with our kids. Parades, pumpkin EVERYTHING and fun, fun, fun.

    So there you go. What goes around comes around. Rain before harvest is a bad deal. I was getting ready to mail you a can of pumpkin … the one that says Libby’s Libby’s Libby’s on the label label label ๐Ÿ™‚ Of course.

    • September 29, 2010 9:37 am

      and thank you for the early morning giggle! I’ll be chuckling over this all day long ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Brooke permalink
    September 29, 2010 12:28 pm

    Funny you should be talking about pumpkin pies! I FINALLY found some Libby’s Pumpkin at the store this morning! ๐Ÿ™‚ Now to make a pie!

  5. September 30, 2010 7:38 am

    I found an organic brand on sale cheaper than Libbys a few months back, so I stocked up on them. So glad I did, now! We can’t have fall without punkin somethin’!
    That Becky cracks me up, too….:o)

Leave a Reply

