Skip to content

Eating cookies…

September 30, 2010

I finished one of the books on my Fall into Reading list in record time, three days. Eat the Cookies, Buy the Shoes was my first Joyce Meyer book, and being honest, I didn’t have huge expectations. It was good stuff! The title tricked me into thinking it was about lightening up; it was actually about learning to rest by letting God be God, instead of me.. Which is a lot less tiring!

The only reason I didn’t mark the daylights out of it was because the library would have fined me heavily, but several chapters were fodder to chew on for days, the kind of stuff that changes the way you see the world, and, hopefully, live in it too.

What more could you possibly ask from a book? it blessed me to pieces, and made me go grab ‘Celebration of Discipline’ by Richard Foster off my bookshelf. That wasn’t on my reading list but it sure is now.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 10:44 pm

    I have to admit I have marked some passages in the past so that I could find them again. No fines, thankfully!

    • September 30, 2010 10:53 pm

      Wow Dawn, I’m pretty sure the library ladies would bust me cold. A few times I’ve written in them and had to go buy the library a new copy instead of returning their marked up one. Brave you!

  2. October 1, 2010 9:13 am

    That surely sounds like one for me. Thanks for the recommendation.

  3. October 1, 2010 1:22 pm

    I’ve never read a Joyce Meyer book but it sounds like this is one I’ll be getting.

  4. October 1, 2010 3:51 pm

    3 days!! I began listening to Joyce Meyer on the radio way back in about 1991 before many people knew who she was, and when she would come to Tulsa to the Maby Center and there wouldn’t be very many of us there. She helped me a LOT back then. She is so practical in her teaching and yet totally Biblical.

    • October 1, 2010 8:16 pm

      Absolutely Susan, she categorizes her teaching as ‘practical’ and that’s right up my alley. She was so no-nonsense, made perfect sense, I was immensely blessed by reading her book.

  5. October 4, 2010 11:11 pm

    I’m glad to hear you liked the book. I haven’t read it, though I love Joyce’s teachings. I’ve learned so much from her over the years, and she teaches in a way that make the lessons stick! 🙂

Leave a Reply

