Skip to content

Fall Road Trip

October 5, 2010

The seniors in our church invited us to join them on a trip to Branson this week. When they assured us the starting age for ‘senior’ is 50, we signed up. In our plans of being intentional about getting to know people it seemed like a great chance to put names to faces of about 40 of them.

The six or so hours on the church bus should be a great chance to make progress on the blanket I’m trying to finish knitting before a certain baby arrives on the scene. They tell us the leaves will be turning, it will be jeans and sweatshirt weather, I don’t have to cook for four days. We’ll come home with our lives made richer by getting to know 40 people in our church, and possibly one will know where to catch bass, and one will be a more accomplished knitter than I am.

What’s not to love about all of that?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 6:34 am

    Sounds good all the way around! Have a great trip, isn’t fall fun?

  2. October 5, 2010 8:13 am

    That sounds great. Going NORTH for fall. I hope you get to wear sweatshirts.

    And you have me curious about the baby. I am assuming it is a friend’s baby and not one in your own family, since I’ve seen no announcements.

    Have so much fun!!

  3. October 5, 2010 9:19 am

    Baby? You canNOT simply drop that on us without clarifying whose baby it is!! =) Pretty please?

  4. October 5, 2010 11:41 am

    oh Leah, if it was our family tree I’d be yelling that. it’s for a dear friend’s daughter, one I’ve known since she was in jr. High. 🙂

  5. October 5, 2010 12:22 pm

    Have a wonderful trip during this beautiful season! We’ve had many fun times in Branson!

  6. October 5, 2010 1:31 pm

    A place I’d love to visit some day! I hope you have a wonderful, relaxing time. Although I suspect you’ll be pretty busy. I know my Grandma’s senior trips were more active than I could keep up with!
    Enjoy!

  7. October 5, 2010 2:33 pm

    That sounds like so much fun, Bev! I wish our church was large enough to have organized activities like that. Hubby and I will hopefully make our way up that direction a little later in the month, with our 5th wheel in tow. I love the Ozarks in the fall!

  8. October 5, 2010 2:40 pm

    Branson is gorgeous this time of year and it sounds like such a fun trip.

Leave a Reply

