Skip to content

Encouragement in unexpected places

October 13, 2010

When I was growing up, in a houseful of kids, we didn’t have a lot of ‘toys’. I had a few special dolls, my brothers had army men and trucks and such, and we had lincoln logs, tinker toys, etc. Mostly we had each other and the entire outdoors. A few bicycles scattered amongst the six of us, blankets for making tents over the clotheslines, and vacant lots where forts could be built. Usually it was our gang versus the entire Erwin family; they had seven kids, making the teams pretty even.

I’m spending the good part of a week with our two grandsons, and just about every time I show up for any length of time, Caiden asks me if we can play Fishopoly. Soon after I got here, we set the game up on the sunporch. I got to be the worm, we set up the bank, and we began the game. After an hour 6 year old Grayson asked if we could please quit, since he was bored. Caiden wasn’t winning – isn’t a game more compelling when you’re winning? – so he was ready to take a break too. Fishopoly was abandoned, and the kids headed outdoors to climb on logs, twirl in the tire swing, and such.

I’ve been here four days – we’ve painted ‘thankful trees’, built a submarine out of cardboard boxes, read books, done chores together, and nobody has mentioned Fishopoly for days. It’s encouraging to see, while everything around us may be changing, kids are still kids and anything that flexes their imagination muscles still wins out over a game that involves moving around and around and around a board, collecting rent til the one with the most money wins.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 10:48 am

    A life lesson I think. Life itself is certainly more engaging when we can find things that interest us on all levels, instead of moving round and round and round the board and paying rent.

  2. October 13, 2010 11:16 pm

    Love this. People never understood how I managed to keep every toy my kids had in one laundry basket. I tried to explain that they played outside or got creative with inside things. I think children get so overwhelmed with STUFF; makes me sad for them.

  3. October 14, 2010 12:09 pm

    If this were Facebook, I would click ‘like.’ : )

Leave a Reply

