Skip to content

If you give a sidetracked mouse a cookie…

November 9, 2010

that little mouse will wake up, drink two cups of coffee, then she’ll head up the stairs, to take her morning shower.

At the top of the stairs, she’ll see the bed needs to be made, and will decide to change the sheets. Fresh sheets are nice!

Halfway through changing the sheets, she’ll notice the closet where the sheets are stored is a bit cluttered. She’ll start pulling stuff out of the closet.

At the back of the closet she’ll see the curtains from a previous home, pull them out, and tuck them in a storage container;

the container that had the miscellaneous gifts she’s gathered throughout the year.

She’ll pull all the gifts out, excited to see she’s already started her Christmas shopping, and she’ll scatter them across the still-half-made bed.

When she sees the gifts scattered across the bed, she’ll start thinking about her unmade Christmas list. Oh my goodness! Christmas is just around the corner, and she doesn’t have a plan!

She’ll head to her computer, pull up the spreadsheet she’s used for the past five years, and begin to lay out a plan – sewing, shopping, baking.

Two hours later, she’ll print out said plan, realize it’s almost lunchtime, the bed still isn’t made, she’s still not dressed, teeth aren’t brushed, and since teeth aren’t brushed,

she might as well have a cookie…

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 9:13 am

    LOL. The adult version of a beloved story! I actually had something similar in my draft pile but it was more in regards to “menopausal brain fog”. But we won’t go there in this comment. LOL.

  2. Jackie permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:41 am

    You obviously were at my home this A.M., tell me where were you hiding????

  3. November 9, 2010 11:59 am

    I know this mouse. I think it may be me. This is exactly what my days become! And cookies are good……

  4. November 9, 2010 12:29 pm

    I love it! That’s one of my 6 yr old’s favorite books!

  5. November 9, 2010 2:22 pm

    haaaahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaa

    I am so loving this. You have made my day. Eat a cookie for me 🙂

  6. November 9, 2010 2:37 pm

    LOL! That was awesome! Love those books and that was the cutest post I’ve read in a long time. : )

  7. November 9, 2010 3:35 pm

    That is the way my days flow, too. I’m glad I’m not the only one!
    Enjoy that cookie!

  8. November 9, 2010 3:56 pm

    Love, love, love this:-)

    Sounds like you may have been at my house this morning- ha! I also was inspired to begin making my Christmas (and even Thanksgiving menu) list and feel so accomplished, even if the laundry is still sitting in the washer!

  9. November 9, 2010 4:31 pm

    Love it! I love your version of the story, because it sounds just like a typical day in my life. Glad to know I’m not the only one!

  10. Nancy permalink
    November 9, 2010 7:23 pm

    No wonder I relate to you so well! I told my husband a similar story about myself the other day. That might actually be a good idea for story book for adults…one of those gift books. Hmmm…

  11. Lori Young permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:32 pm

    What a seriously darling post! It made me smile at the end of a day of just such “mouse trails” 🙂

  12. November 10, 2010 6:01 am

    I’m with you, Sister! I’ve lived that story way too many times.

  13. November 10, 2010 7:53 am

    I do that very same thing on many a Saturday. It’s nice to know, though, that however crazy the process might be, there’s always a cookie at the end.

  14. November 11, 2010 5:44 pm

    Next time, use those two hours to drive to my house, and we’ll eat cookies together 🙂

  15. November 12, 2010 8:57 am

    I LOVE this post, Mama!! It actually explains perfectly why I am currently on the computer…I came upstairs to pull sheets off beds, saw the pile of bills on the desk, sat down to do finances, and ended up on your blog. Maybe it’s hereditary!?!?! At least I’m in good company!
    Love you tons! 🙂

  16. November 12, 2010 9:59 pm

    Love that post!! Too funny and very realistic part of being a woman, in my humble opinion!!

Leave a Reply

