Skip to content

Home, on the range…

November 12, 2010

I’m back home, after a quick trip into the Metroplex, to spend time with my daughter, Sarah and her family. I know it was a good, actually great, visit because I came home TIRED. We decorated, sewed, arranged furniture, cooked, shopped, ran errands, watched kids learning to swim, ate peppermint shakes at Chick Fillet, went to a women’s event at church, and had an extended session at Barnes and Noble that may have included pumpkin lattes and cheesecake. My version of having fun tends to run late into the night, and start the day bright and early. My last morning there I woke up to knocking on the door, at 7:15 a.m. I thought, ‘how nice, Sarah is bringing me coffee in bed!” I opened the door to see nobody looking back at me, then lowered my gaze several feet to see 4-year-old Addie standing there, with an expectant look on her little face.

“Good morning Grammy.”

“Addie? It’s 7:15 in the morning!”

She looked up at me with those big, blue eyes, pointed up and said, ‘look at the sky, it’s morning, get up please!’

So I’m dragging a bit, but in a good way. And this upcoming weekend will be no remedy for that. Actually it’ll probably throw fuel on the fire. Here’s the plan:

Saturday morning – I’m getting up at 6:30 a.m. to drive to the nearest Denny’s for ‘Saturday Breakfast club’; a group of women whose ages range from mid-40’s to late 70’s. They meet every single Saturday, whoever can make it. I love how non-exclusive that is. Then I’m heading into town to do some shopping at a beautiful gift shop I discovered a couple of weeks ago, where everything, EVERYTHING is 50% off.

Home for a few hours before we go back into town, to meet our new friends for italian food and seeing ‘Hello, Dolly!’ at the local theater.

Sunday morning is Sunday School and church and I’d sure love it if the local Christian bookstore would call before then, to tell me the Bible I ordered has come in. I read once that Ruth Bell Graham used the same Bible for her entire adult life. Can you imagine what a treasure it would be to read the notes she jotted in the side columns? I decided to buy a brand new study Bible, chuck up the money for leather, book indentions, putting my name on the front and give away all the others I’ve accumulated, to the Care Center we’re volunteering at.

Then we’re attending the new member dinner immediately after church. We’ll hear an overview of the church’s history, and plans for the future. The church just broke ground on a new building project a few months ago, so it will be fun to be part of that.

We’ll find something to do for a few hours in town, possibly catch a movie, then head back for the evening service where my friend is being baptized. And after all that, there’s Koffee, Kake and Karaoke in the evening. Not that I plan to sing, but watching others is always a blast.

So a weekend packed full of goodness. After being here in Texas for about 7 1/2 months the days are starting to flow, faces are becoming familiar, and it’s feeling more and more like home.

I’d say ‘on the range’ but that’d be unbearably corny.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 2:47 pm

    Glad it’s feeling like ‘home, home on the range.’ Corny is just clever, when it actually applies well.

    xoxo 🙂

  2. Susal permalink
    November 12, 2010 3:10 pm

    Glad to hear how you’re getting into the ‘groove’ since you’ve made this move. I also attend a Saturday Breakfast (& spiritual support) group. We’ve been doing it for over a dozen years. Getting and staying connected with the women of various ages is wonderful. There are usually around 7 there–with 4 of us from the original group.
    Susal

  3. November 12, 2010 3:35 pm

    That is so great … a busy weekend with friends that are quickly becoming “old” rather than “new”. Love it!! And that Addie is a trip. Isn’t it wonderful to be so loved??

  4. November 12, 2010 5:06 pm

    It is exciting to hear how much you love where you live and adjusting enough to call it “home on the range”! I tell Burl so often how much I love being a Mountain Lady……. it makes him smile!!!

Leave a Reply

