Skip to content

storing up for the heart

November 26, 2010

My mom has been here with us for the past week, and we only have her here for a few more days. As the days have gone by, packed to the brim with fun outings, and good food and belly laughs and deep-thinking conversations, with time spent with grandchildren who aren’t children anymore, and their children, I’ve found myself slowing down on the inside. Taking time to notice her mannerisms, how her blue-grey eyes crinkle up when she giggles, watching her take another serving of fried fish or some other dish she rarely gets to enjoy.

I wonder how old I’ll be before my own children, who aren’t children anymore, will start to watch me and their Dad, storing up for their hearts?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2010 10:27 am

    Please don’t think I think you’re old–but we already do! Just like we do with our children, because you never know how many days you get. Have fun with everybody today! Love you 🙂

    • November 26, 2010 10:26 pm

      You and I are going to be ‘little old ladies’ together someday, just like we’ve always planned. Being only 20 years apart, we’ve got adventures to go on, etc. etc. We’ll take Leslie along with us as the ‘youngun’! And how do I know that someday all you kids are going to sit around and laugh about my loud, crazy laugh and terrible mispronunciations????

      • November 27, 2010 8:31 am

        Well, I never noticed your laugh (Is it crazy? I don’t think so!), but you know we already laugh at your pronunciations!! By the time you’re really old, I’ll be pretty old, and Caiden will be middle-aged, so there’s no telling how many people will join in with us! We should all go to England and tromp around the Lake District and drink tea, yes??

  2. November 26, 2010 1:28 pm

    you are indeed blessed to enjoy watching that mom of yours and all the wonderful things about her! I was only 30 when my mom died…..too young to really appreciate what I would love to go back and do now.

    Our days are indeed numbered and EVERY moment counts!

    • November 26, 2010 10:24 pm

      Melanie, I cannot imagine. Sometimes I think of all the questions I need to ask my parents, things I need to have them talk about, reminisce over. I so hope I have her for another 20 years, and to have lost yours when you were still a young woman must have been such a tremendous loss. xoxo

  3. November 26, 2010 4:08 pm

    Oh Bev, this touched such a tender spot in my heart. I am storing up the moments and memories with my elderly parents too. Precious, bitter-sweet moments.
    I have to tell you that your writing has such a special “something” about it these days. Just wonderful….you bless.

    • November 26, 2010 10:23 pm

      Linda, thank you for taking time to comment. Life is so precious, and time so fleeting, when our parents begin to age. You just want to freeze time, I guess the supreme test of love is being there with them, knowing how much you are going to miss them someday.

  4. Jodybelle permalink
    November 26, 2010 4:34 pm

    I’ve read your blog for a while now but don’t comment much. However, this year my dad is sick and my father in law is 87 and just dropped a healthcare issue on us out of the blue and it seems like things are slowing down for my husband and I as we watch them. I was just sitting in line at Chick=fil-a and watched an elderly man walking to his car and had some of the same thoughts you expressed here. Makes my heart hurt and you’ve captured my thoughts perfectly.

    • November 26, 2010 10:22 pm

      Jody, I was so touched by your words, and you taking time to share them. When my older brother died about six years ago, I hunted frantically through my house for something that had his handwriting on it. I found one photo he’d taken and set it out every April, the anniversary of his death. I feel blessed to have such a wonderful relationship with my mother, and know already there are so many things I’m going to miss someday. I don’t want to leave anything unsaid, one hug not given, etc. etc. etc.

Leave a Reply

