Skip to content

hand-holding

November 27, 2010

Right after my mom arrived we went to my daughter’s / her grand-daughter’s home. Not noticing the dining room had a a step down, she went flying, just a bit. Since then I’ve been watching, and either mentioning to her, ‘there’s a step’ or offering her my hand as she took that step. Setting any pride aside, knowing she could use a bit of watching over, she never once turned me away, but put her hand in mine til the ground leveled out. This past week I’ve found myself thinking several times of the circle of life. Making me feel like the theme from Lion King should be playing in the background, it’s been hard not to think back to when she was my age, vibrant and strong and fiercely independent.

Now she’s willing to put her hand in mine.

Sitting around our table yesterday, before Thanksgiving dinner, six of us held hands as Don asked the blessing on our food, and our lives. He thanked God for all we have, for each other, for those not with us, and he prayed that we would all have eyes that see our blessings more quickly, more easily. He prayed that  this next year we would see opportunities to bless others with what we have. Sitting in a circle of hands joined together around that table, I wondered if my hand felt small and light and fragile in my son’s, and what his thoughts might be, with his baby girl’s tiny hand nestled inside his other one.

Being thankful came easy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 11:22 am

    I’m going to have to remember to bring a tissue with me when I read your posts Bev. Oh yes – to all of this. And more so these days since my Mom fell and broke her hip last March. We all reach for her hand as she walks now.
    I feel your words; I live them too.
    Thank you.

  2. November 27, 2010 2:09 pm

    You made me cry.

  3. November 28, 2010 7:25 am

    Beautiful Bev.

  4. November 28, 2010 12:03 pm

    This made me cry too! I LOVE my family. I’m more thankful for all of you than I could ever say, and I can’t wait to hold hands with you and Daddy over Christmas. Noodles forever.
    xoxo

    • November 28, 2010 1:53 pm

      I wore the apron you gave me while I cooked Thanksgiving dinner, to hold you close to my heart. then I switched to the one Sarah gave me while I served it. Can’t wait to be there for Christmas, soon!

Leave a Reply

