Skip to content

Early morning…

November 28, 2010

A few days ago ‘early birds’ were out, shopping for bargains. I was nestled deep under the covers, and by the time I finally dragged myself out of bed most of them were home sharing the great buys they’d scored. Getting up and out to shop before dawn is just not my cup of tea.

But this morning I’m up much earlier than usual, for a long drive to the airport. The shimmering blue-grey lake looks majestic with its patches here and there where the just-waking-up sun is reflecting off it. All three bird feeders are covered with cold, hungry customers, and their squawks and calls as they impatiently wait their turn makes for a funny, off-key sort of morning serenade.

I’m an audience of one, gazing at a sky washed with bands of blue and washed out yellow, melting into morning’s light, sipping this first cup of coffee.

I’m confident no bargain at the big box store begins to compare.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 2:28 pm

    Oh, I agree completely. You have had a wonderful week and I am sure you are reflecting on the sweet memories you have made.

  2. November 29, 2010 9:23 am

    I’m with you, I much prefer the peace of God’s creation to the mayhem of Black Friday shopping (although I do take the girls out just because they think it is fun to have starbucks at 4:30 a.m.!)

    • November 29, 2010 1:37 pm

      Kelly, I’d say that was more ‘making memories with daughters’ than bargain shopping. Well worth getting out of bed for!

      • November 30, 2010 7:04 am

        Absolutely! The best part for me is returning home and the 3 of us snuggling in my bed to catch up on the missed sleep… I’ll take their cuddles anytime I can get them:-)

Leave a Reply

