Skip to content

Dancing in the Streets

December 8, 2010

My mom was here with us for Thanksgiving, and we were so busy, the days were so cram-packed, it’s taken me this long to post this.

Our little town of Corsicana had a ‘light up night’, and in true southern style they lured shoppers by giving away free fried chicken and sweet tea. Pure perfection in my book.

On top of that, they had entertainment in the form of line dancing, right in the middle of Main Street. I sat and ate fried chicken in the back of a pickup truck that was parked in the middle of the road, blocking traffic.

Mom, on the other hand, was busy burning calories.

Most of the time she was going the right direction. I’m pretty sure she wouldn’t have had a bit more fun if she’d been in step the entire time. A great example to get up and live life, not sit on the sidelines. Nobody cares if you look silly, can’t keep step, what you’re wearing.

She went to bed that night one happy woman. I fell asleep with a smile on my face, thinking of the look on hers as she tried to stay in step with them.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jackie permalink
    December 8, 2010 12:14 pm

    I would always be going in the opposite direction of everyone else. Good for your Mom.

  2. December 8, 2010 12:25 pm

    It’s easy to see where you get your zest for life. Fun!!

  3. Susan D permalink
    December 8, 2010 1:03 pm

    Bev, I LOVE this post! It always amazes me what our parents do at their age compared to the previous generation! They know how to live life to the fullest! I would love to line dance on Main street in the middle of a small town when I am older! I know – let’s make that a goal of ours – we can get together in 20 years & dance in the middle of the street either there in Corsicana, here in Colorado or maybe in some warm sunny spot of the world!

    • December 8, 2010 9:12 pm

      Absolutely! Maybe when we’re 70 and don’t give a hoot anymore.

  4. December 8, 2010 2:59 pm

    Oh, your mom sounds like a pistol! Now Don knows first-hand just what he can look forward to with YOU for the next who-knows-how-long!! =)

  5. December 8, 2010 3:28 pm

    I love that kind of live-out-loud attitude. I hope she can do that till she’s 99. And then when she can’t, she can coach 🙂

Leave a Reply

