Skip to content

Holy throw up

December 10, 2010

That magical moment. Everyone was tucked in tight for the night. One last request, ‘I’m thirsty’. After a great day together, all the little chicks were tucked in and this Grammy was ready for a few minutes to myself.

Tiny wimpering cut through the noise of the sound machine.

‘My tummy hurts.’

After a potty trip that did nothing to assuage symptoms, I tucked her back under the covers. A few more minutes and more crying. Thinking back to the hot cocoa and Christmas cookies earlier than evening, and 35 years of mothering under my belt, I grabbed the bathroom rug, covered the floor next to the bed, and climbed in next to her.

Sure enough, experience paid off; I was right. Calling to Papa for washrags and bathroom waste baskets and rubberbands for tying up hair, we spent the next hour with her throwing up, then falling back into that hard sleep little ones do when they are sick. I laid there next to her, fully clothed, teeth unbrushed, with the smell of a soiled woobie next to my nose.

Through the night I’d look over to see her sleeping peacefully, thankful for answered prayers of no raging fevers on my watch. Raising our kids, I’d earned a reputation for not being great at dealing with middle-of-the-night stuff. The rule was, ‘if you’re not throwing up or bleeding don’t wake me up.’ Looking over at her face, I thanked God for this little girl he brought into our lives, with thoughts drifting back to years of tummy aches and such. Who would have expected holy moments sleeping on less than pristine pillowcases?

Morning’s light seeped through the window’s blinds, her face taking up such a tiny spot on the pillow next to mine. Waking up she said, ‘I wanted you to sleep with me, Grammy’.

‘Me too, Miss Addie.’

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 8:57 am

    Being a mom is kinda like riding a bicycle, huh?

    Glad she’s feeling better.

    xoxo

    • December 10, 2010 9:46 am

      Amen – you never entirely forget, but it can still be a bit wobbly!

  2. December 10, 2010 10:13 am

    You are a great GRAND!!!! She is one blessed little girl.

  3. December 10, 2010 1:48 pm

    Bless her heart. When are kids are sick, it forces us to snuggle and slow down. Not a bad thing sometimes.

  4. December 10, 2010 5:01 pm

    Well … first your title made me laugh hysterically. I thought I knew what was coming after all (ha! glad it wasn’t ME). Then the post made me cry ’cause I didn’t see it coming (Oh, to be a Grammie). This was a sweet, sweet read. I hope Miss Addie is feeling much better by now.

  5. December 12, 2010 3:53 pm

    Amazing how there is beauty in the midst of the absolute yuckies, isn’t it?

    How precious to think of the peace she felt waking up to find that you had been keeping watch all night. Oh, the sweet hearts of children… and Grammies, too!

  6. December 13, 2010 4:16 pm

    What a sweet Grammy you are, to find some “holy” in the throw up!

Leave a Reply

