Skip to content

Reading List for 2011

January 1, 2011

This year’s reading list is a mismash of fiction, non-fiction, classics, current issues and plain ole fun, with no particular order.  I’ll grab one, and when I finish it, grab another.

I already own a few, a dozen are downloaded to my iPad, the local library has some, and Sarah and I share books. Don and I are looking forward to reading a few together which should make for fun and interesting conversations over a glass of wine in the evening or while we’re on the road.

There a few blank spots, so I’m open to suggestions. Maybe something on my list will be just the book you want to grab off the shelf. As I finish reading the ones I own I’ll do some giveaways too.

Here it is in all its glory:

  1. The Hole in Our Gospel, Richard Stearns
  2. My Antonia, Willa Sibert Cather
  3. Death Comes for the Archbishop, Willa Sibert Cather
  4. Quo Vadis, Henry K. Sienkiewicz
  5. Texas, James Michener *
  6. The Brothers Karamazov, Fyodor Mikhailovich Dostoevsky
  7. Chronicles of Narnia, C S Lewis *
  8. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte
  9. Her Mother’s Hope, Francine Rivers
  10. Story of Edgar Sawtelle, David Wroblewski
  11. Her Daughter’s Dream, Francine Rivers
  12. In the Company of Others, Jan Karon (currently reading, #2 in the Father Tim series)
  13. Embracing Your Second Calling, Dale Hanson Bourke
  14. When Helping Hurts, Steve Corbett
  15. Cry the Beloved Country, Alan Paton
  16. Outrageous, Contagious Joy, Ed Young *
  17. Hannah Coulter, Wendell Berry
  18. Fried Green Tomatoes, Fannie Flagg
  19. Get Out of That Pit, Beth Moore
  20. Dancing with my Father, Sally Clarkson
  21. Decision Points, George Bush *
  22. To be added
  23. To be added
  24. To be added

Two per month, some would make a good doorstop, some are a pretty easy read. Some were written well over 100 years ago, some in 2010. There are favorite authors in there, and new ones whose names I can’t spell, let alone pronounce.  Add to that a read through of the Bible, Beth Moore’s study of Daniel with our church women, it looks to be a great year of reading.

I’ve read a quote that goes something like: “there are two things that change who you are – what you read and who you spend time with.” Here’s to reading in 2011 that’s a learning, entertaining, priority-defining, and life shaping experience!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 10:11 pm

    i have “when helping hurts” on my list to read this year too! i’ve had it for awhile but just never gotten around to reading it so i’m looking forward to reading it this year!

  2. January 3, 2011 8:21 am

    I just finished “In the Company of Others” last night–her books are just amazing!! I’m always sad for one to end. Those two Francine Rivers books are amazing,too–finished them not long ago. You’ll love them! “The Hole in Our Gospel” will rock your world–it did mine! I can’t wait to hear what you think about it!! Happy New Year!! Love and blessings, Karen

  3. January 3, 2011 2:45 pm

    Ah – Dostoevsky! As a lover of Russian lit, I recommend that you make sure that you have a copy of Brothers K that has a list of characters and their various nicknames and monikers in the text, as the Russian language allows for great flexibility in the formation of nicknames and dimunitives. It’s a great read…as is Crime and Punishment. If you like Brothers K, I recommend adding Crime and Punishment in one of those blanks spots! Another book that I think you might enjoy would be I Capture the Castle. I just read it last week, and loved it.

  4. January 3, 2011 10:46 pm

    I think you’ll really like My Antonia.

  5. Lisa permalink
    January 4, 2011 7:48 am

    Since you like books about resilient women, you may want to consider adding Harriet Arnow’s “The Dollmaker”. It is one that made me cry and smile…

  6. January 4, 2011 7:20 pm

    You’ve got some good ones on your list! I loved:

    Death Comes for the Archbishop
    Chronicles of Narnia *
    Her Mother’s Hope (I haven’t read the second one yet, but I hope to soon!)

    And Mitford is great! (Haven’t read the new series yet, though.)

    I’m going to read Jane Eyre this year, too.

Leave a Reply

