Skip to content

Rambling…

January 4, 2011

I’m reading Jan Karon’s “In The Company of Others”.  I dreamed of having tea with Prince Charles, decided Princess Diana was more of the ticket, eventually kicked them both off my list, put Ruth Bell Graham on there, she’s in heaven now, so I’ve replaced them all with Jan Karon. It would be so lovely to listen to the heart of the person who wrote all those Mitford novels. It’s a happy note that our new pastor reminds me a bit of Father Tim (from the novels), without the robes. Looking for a devotional to use this new year, I was intrigued by Jan Karon mentioning ‘The Morning Office’ in her books, and a google search led me to The Book of Common Prayer. I found this link online . It has a fresh feel from anything I’ve done the past 30+ years; a bit more world-wide, one-church. Reading, and mentally reciting the Apostle’s Creed reminds me of my younger days. I’ve been non-denominational, with Baptist leanings, for years (the never to be mentioned on a blog but there it is). See what you think. Or not. If you don’t love The Morning Office, at least check out the novel 🙂

My looks haven’t changed. I tried to update my profile photo and for the love of Mike I can’t get a photo to insert on my blog. There are days I don’t love wordpress, but right now it’s just taking too much effort to bother. I went with a new header because it worked the first try. Soon as I get a new haircut the vanity in me might rise up and I’ll work on it again.

We’re going green after driving a gas-guzzling SUV for the past 12 years. Our current mileage begins with a ‘1’ unless we’re on the highway and then it’s only marginally better. So we’re heading into the metroplex later this week, and hopefully we’ll come home in something that stops at the gas pump much less often. Driving a vehicle whose mileage begins with a ‘3’ sounds so delicious to me, and the fact that the model we’ve marked comes with a sunroof as a standard feature – oh my! Something I’ve always, always, always wanted. Much better than a convertible – with a convertible all my papers and snacks and books would be flying willy-nilly. Visions of driving down the highway, sunroof open, wind blowing through my hair that doesn’t show on this blog because I can’t get a profile photo to post….

We’re living in a sermon….. Huge windows at the back of the house afford a lakeview. We’ve had bird after bird bash into it, they lie there stunned, or dead. Those seasonal plastic decals on the window did nothing. Ttwo days ago Mrs. Cardinal became obsessed with our lower left pane. She continually whacked into it yesterday from dawn to dusk, with no stopping. I dragged all the patio chairs up next to it. Just shortened her kamikaze path. This morning she began again, before 7 am so I’ve taped foil to the entire lower window – it looks lovely – and helped NONE. There is a constant, CONSTANT noise of her bashing her body into the window. Her husband, or beau, sits on the patio table, watching her. Any tips? Is God trying to tell me something?

Did I ever announce on here that we have another grandbaby on the way? Due one day removed from my birthday, thanks to our son and daughter-in-law, and we were asked to attend the sonogram this Friday to find out whether I should knit pink or blue…. That will be #6 and we’re feeling mightily blessed with so many little ones added to our family-fold. Little people are such a nice addition.

We found out our Pennsylvania kids are moving to Idaho in the spring. We are over the moon for them, and us. The trek to PA was 1300 miles and Idaho is 2100 miles away. We love road trips! Especially in non-gas-guzzling cars with sunroofs. We’re so excited about all that part of the country offers – Yellowstone, Glacier National Park, my husband quickly rattled off a list of future trips.  We plan to drive up there later this summer when we’re weary of the Texas heat, and maybe, just maybe I can connect with Gretchen, a blogging friend, who lives in Washington. My PA girlfriends have been given notice – we’ll need to schedule a yearly girl weekend to stay in touch from here on out.

We’re busy with cleaning closets and giving away unworn clothing, setting up schedules for housecleaning, simple meals that hopefully lend themselves to shedding some pounds, and planning to remove wallpaper, paint bedrooms, and find a friend to keep Miss Kitty company while we’re on the road. So it’s hopping around here!

That’s it for what’s up at Sweet Tea right now. If anyone has a tip on how to get a bird to quit bashing into your house that does not involve a pellet gun, it would be much appreciated!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Rita permalink
    January 4, 2011 10:48 am

    Hi Bev,

    I’ve also been reading the Mitford novels. I just finished Out to Canaan and am starting A New Song. I would love to have tea with the whole Mitford clan! While I was waiting for my next book to come in from the library I picked up Same Kind of Different As Me. It’s a true story about a wealthy Texas couple who decide to volunteer at a Mission for the homeless and a former slave (sharecropper) . If you haven’t read this one, I highly recommend it.

  2. January 4, 2011 11:00 am

    I LOVE reading your ramblings and all that is going on in your life!! So sorry about your bird bashing–wish I had some great words of wisdom for you, but I don’t!

    When you have tea with Jan Karon, can I please tag along??? I’ve thought the exact same thing–I’d like tea with her and with Laura Bush. One of my kids even asked me as I was reading “In the Company of Others” “wouldn’t you like to meet her in person?”. I thought that was so interesting–I’d never verbalized that to them at all!

    Can’t wait to hear about the new grandbaby and the new adventures that are ahead for you–life is good!

    Love and blessings,
    Karen

  3. January 4, 2011 1:47 pm

    No help from here about the poor birds 😦 That must be rather disconcerting. I love Father Tim and the Mitford novels – I will certainly be checking out that devotional. I chose Streams in the Desert this year, but I could still change . . .

    And Idaho? What part? I live in the Boise area – wouldn’t it be amazing to meet up someday? Your kids are lucky, lucky, lucky. Although very different from PA, it is an amazing secret out here!

    • January 5, 2011 12:11 am

      Robin, Coure d’alene (forgive the sp – I havent figured it out yet). I’m all for MIRL when we drive there – after the first 2100 miles what’s a few more? My hubby has relatives in Boise, so maybe we can do that!

  4. January 4, 2011 2:58 pm

    hey bev…….my all time favorite devo book is ‘Jesus Calling’. I’m starting over on it for the 4th year. It always speaks to me. Several of my friends us it too

    • January 5, 2011 12:11 am

      Melanie, thanks! I love, love a new devotional and am intrigued by the name. xoox

    • January 5, 2011 12:11 am

      PS Sometime when you are in town to visit D&K, please let me know so we can have lunch or coffee or something. I’d love, love to meet!

  5. January 4, 2011 3:39 pm

    We had a cardinal hit the glass, slide down dead, and then Shadow snatched it up and carried it around for hours. Nice. And our bluebirds not only hit the windows, but also the basketball goal glass. The only thing that works–the ONLY thing–is to close your blinds. If that won’t work for you (It doesn’t for us, obviously, since we don’t have blinds), then you’ll just have to let them whack the glass and hope smarter birds arrive this spring 🙂 But you might as well take down the foil, because it’s reflective, so it will only make it worse. They think they’re fighting their reflections!! Who knew birds are so crazy??

    • January 5, 2011 12:07 am

      I did not – Dad told me, “Bev, have you noticed they don’t have birds in the circus?” This is one really, really dumb cardinal!

    • January 5, 2011 12:10 am

      Alas, no way are we shutting the blinds. That’s the view we paid to have. Crazy, crazy bird!

  6. January 4, 2011 5:36 pm

    Congratulations on the new little coming into your life.

    My sister (in Austin) had good luck with several feathers bunched together — faked the bird into thinking that a bird had been killed there and would warn the bird to go elsewhere to avoid the predator. She bought something online; I asked her where but she couldn’t remember. Sorry.

    • January 5, 2011 12:09 am

      Woah – pretend dead bird feathers – who would have thunk?!

  7. January 4, 2011 6:07 pm

    A new grandbaby, how exciting as is getting to go to the ultrasound!

    I have no ideas for you on that poor crazy bird other than sit your cat in the window. :v)

    • Terri permalink
      January 4, 2011 6:47 pm

      I read somewhere that covering the window with shaving cream might work. If she continues to bang into it, at least the shaving cream will soften the blow! Congrats on the newest family member and Happy New Year from Arizona.

      • January 5, 2011 12:09 am

        Terri, never, ever heard of that but it would at least be fun – maybe the grandkids can help me! And HNY to you too 🙂

  8. January 4, 2011 7:07 pm

    I just read through all your comments (and that was fun by the way) and I think Sarah has the best advice. They are seeing their own reflection and trying to fight it. That is always what I heard. We used to have a bird when I taught that would do that for weeks on end. Over an over and over again on my classroom window. Then she’d stop and go away until the next year in the same month. Ugh.

    As for me, I have always had a kind of crush on Father Tim. I have told my husband many, many, many times I wanted to invite him to dinner. To which the Butler kindly reminds me, “HE’S JUST PRETEND!!” Spoiled sport!!

    • January 5, 2011 12:08 am

      Absolutely a crush on Father Tim, who is 70 in her latest book. How fun to have a crush on someone 70! He’s like Santa, he lives in our hearts….

  9. January 5, 2011 10:55 am

    Throughly enjoyed reading this nice, newsy post!!! Love your attitude about your kids move.

  10. January 10, 2011 12:11 pm

    I’m catching up so I’m thrilled to hear you are having another grandbaby. Wonderful news. I laughed out loud about the bird continually bashing into your window while her husband/beau sits and looks on. Surely there’s a very deep meaning there. Wonderful analogy! ha!

Leave a Reply

