Skip to content

Settling in for a cozy weekend…

January 8, 2011

So to finish the rambling conversation we were having….

New grandbaby is a B.O.Y.! They have a little girl already.  How fun for big sister to boss around, fun to see those photos of her sucking him into playing dressup, playing with Barbies, her being coached early on to pick up critters and such, and also him teaching her some noises are just funny…. With two tall parents, I have visions of a basketball goal going up early, with fun games played in the driveway.

Our new car is N.E.W.!
We’ve never, ever bought a new car, but the incentives were too good to pass up. So we didn’t. We knew what we were looking for, and they had it on the lot. I’m not sure which I’m more tickled over – the moon roof, that there is no trace of McDonald’s smell in it, or that it gets 34 MPG on the road. Which we’re on a lot. We’ve driven 250 miles since we picked it up, and the tank is still half full. Watching how slowly the gas gauge needle falls is as fascinating as if I was watching brain surgery.

My daughter-in-law, Janae told me about these socks. They are low cut to wear with tennis shoes, but the best thing about them is the little extra part added on at the back of the heel. They are absolutely fabulous to wear! When I had trouble locating them she told me to look at Target, but her best tip – buy men’s footies, not women’s. They are better quality and also tend to fit your foot better if you wear anything over a size 9. Well worth the money.

The bird has persisted, and I bought these online to remedy the problem. She’s been pecking at our back window now for days, hour after hour, so I’m about to grab some windex and newspapers, give the windows a good cleaning then stick these decals up. I’ll let you know if they work. They are a bit cheesy looking but it has to be better than the constant pecking we’re listening to now.

After a full two days in the metroplex we crawled home last night and tucked ourselves in as early as possible. Waking to music, I wondered what on earth? This new retiree didn’t even recognize the sound. The alarm clock was calling my name, dragging out of bed to get back in the car, sans makeup, to join our Saturday Morning Breakfast Club. A group of women from our church – nothing exclusive about it and don’t I love that. If you want to come, show up. Every single Saturday morning, 7:30 a.m. at Denny’s where you share joys and sorrows and laughs and pay your own bill. It was one of my New Year’s Resolutions – to be faithful in my commitment to this group. Driving our new car this morning with the radio turned up wasn’t all bad. I’m not a speed demon but I do have to say those small cars sure do hug the road, don’t they?

We’re supposedly about to be hit by cold or sleet or something that sends Texans scurrying. We’ll either drive into church if it’s passable, or stay in pajamas and read the paper extra long if it’s not. Being forced to stay at home for 24 hours would be a gift. There’s knitting and sewing and baking and reading all calling my name. Hope everybody out there has a great weekend lined up too. First week of January is in the bag 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2011 12:13 pm

    And didn’t that first week go by fast? They all seem to do that at my … er … our age don’t they?
    Zippy! That is the word for your new car. It is one of my favorite words and I love to use it when I can. Zippy! Zippy! Zippy! Have fun with that new car. Can you hook your iPod up without a cord or however they technologically do that these days? That would be my favorite part I think.

    Sounds like a great weekend to me. I am curled up on the couch with my laptop and a stack of Better Homes and Gardens I need to catch up on. And I went out for breakfast with the Butler this morning and loved it. Then grocery shopping. “It’s a date!” he said.

  2. January 8, 2011 12:14 pm

    Oh my goodness and silly me … CONGRATULATIONS on that new grand boy. Won’t Sarah’s boys love that? A whole new fella to roam the farm with. How exciting.

  3. January 8, 2011 6:08 pm

    A boy- how fun!

    I swear, reading here gives me the same cozy feeling as Jan Karon’s books. All just seems well in the world after I catch up with you here, so thanks!

    Enjoy your cozy weekend, we are praying for snow but it seems to keep skirting us, unfortunately.

  4. January 8, 2011 7:39 pm

    Yeah on the baby brother!!! What brand is the car. Looks nice and sounds lovely.

  5. Brenda permalink
    January 8, 2011 9:09 pm

    Hi….delurking here to say that my parents have those decals on some large windows, and they seem to have worked well. Also, my two brothers live in the Coeur D’Alene, ID area, and you will love visiting there! Lots of lakes and rivers, a wonderful bike trail – I think it’s called the Hiawatha Trail – that goes through old mining areas, lots of wildlife & on & on. However, it can be very cold in the winter – as it is right now – so I prefer to visit my family in the summer or fall. It gets too cold for this southern Californian! ;o)

  6. January 8, 2011 11:54 pm

    You are right, staying home is a gift……… with lots of babysitting for us coming up when the a twin girls arrive we love staying home when we can. This weekend we are supposed to have 7 -10 inches of snow and I hopping for it so we can snuggle in….. it has all melted so far.

  7. January 9, 2011 9:19 pm

    We loved our weekend together!! Come again soon!!!

Leave a Reply

