Skip to content

Giddy with anticipation….

January 19, 2011

My daughter, Sarah, gave me yarn, needles and a book – How to Knit Socks – for Christmas. So we drove 2800 miles to and from Pittsburgh and I knitted and knitted and knitted.


I’m just about ready to knit the toe. Right now it looks like it’ll fit Princess Fiona. Sarah assures me it’ll shrink when I block it. I’ll let you know.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 5:14 am

    If I remember correctly, it is not a million years since you learned to knit, Bev, and you are knitting SOCKS!!!!! I am SO impressed!

    • January 20, 2011 7:52 am

      Linds, so sweet of you. I’ve been knitting about three years, and there are some wonky spots on this first sock. I’m praying blocking it will even it out a bit. I was amazed how much fun it is! It took a few phone calls to Sarah to explain the process.

  2. January 20, 2011 8:50 am

    Very pretty! I’m impressed. You’re using DPNs!!! I taught myself to knit socks using two circular needles with a book and YouTube. LOL My “knitting guru” lives far away and advised me via instant messaging and e-mail.

    What’s the name of your yarn? And manufacturer?

    Looking forward to seeing more on your knitting. There are lots of opportunities to knit for charity too.

    And I take it you’ve found ravelry.com? It’s THE place for knitters on the web. Lots of advice, free patterns, ideas, etc.

    • January 20, 2011 11:09 am

      Maria, indeed I am using DPN’s! The first time I saw Sarah use them it looked like some kind of funky accupuncture 🙂 The yarn she gave me to use is a self-striping one (hoorah). Red Heart, Heart and Sole, Color is #3940, called Green Envy. Two skeins should make two socks, but since I wear size 10 shoes it may take a tad more for mine.

      I did make some chemo caps when I was in my hat-knitting phase, and just finished a little cap for a preemie. They whip up so quickly and make for great car-knitting projects. I think there is a book called Knitting for Peace that lists many organizations you can knit and contribute to.

  3. January 20, 2011 9:38 am

    I really want to try knitting socks but the whole thing scares me. The multiple needles, the fact that you have to make a heel and toes and that in the end they have to feet someone’s feet. Oh my!
    Does the book really help?
    I’m currently knitting a afghan for myself 40 x 50 and with only two skeins used (of 8) there are errors. Just keeping telling myself that the “mistakes” are just reminders that only God is perfect!

  4. January 20, 2011 10:03 am

    Good for you!!!

  5. January 20, 2011 1:14 pm

    I am so impressed!

  6. January 20, 2011 3:00 pm

    That is something I have always wanted to do. I’ve used the DPNs on other projects but not socks. I think some knitted socks would make nice stocking stuffers this year though. I’d better get busy.

  7. January 20, 2011 10:26 pm

    Congratulations on your newly aquired sock knitting skills!

    I’m impressed with anyone who can learn to knit anything from a book. I just can’t do it. I have to ‘see’ something done. I learned to knit socks with dpns. At first it felt like I was wrestling an anorexic alligator. 😉

    This week, I’m learning the magic loop toe-up method, and as much as I enjoy knitting socks on dpn’s, I think I’m going to love knitting them with magic loop (one very long circular needle). After I get the hang of this, I’m going to attempt two socks toe-up at one time. If you never hear from me again, it means the stress of it sent me over the edge. ;-Þ

  8. January 20, 2011 10:27 pm

    Oops! I meant to say I learned to knit socks on dpn’s from watching online videos. 🙂

  9. Vickie permalink
    January 21, 2011 8:27 am

    I put off learning to knit socks for the longest time because I found using DPNs to be too intimidating. But once I tried it, I was hooked. Now it seems I always have a pair of socks on the needles. I still need to learn magic loop and two-at-a-time.

    • January 21, 2011 8:55 am

      Vicki, I haven’t even heard of either Im still such a newbie, but isn’t knitting socks so much fun?! perfect project to take along wherever you go.

Leave a comment